Going back to...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Sdahe, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #1
    Tiger!!!!

    My MBP came with Tiger when I got it almost a year ago. I upgrade the Ram to 4gb a few weeks ago. If I put Tiger back... Would it run better?

    Opinions please!!!
     
  2. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #2
    Leopard runs just as good as Tiger on my G4 mac mini 1 GB ram...why would you want to.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Why do you feel the need to go backwards?
    Are you experiencing any problems?

    Post your issues and perhaps someone can address them

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    honestly, time machine is reason enough to not use tiger

    however, tiger is very solid. just keep in mind that more and more software will begin to require leopard
     
  5. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #5
    It's all about graphic smoothness... In Tiger the system seems to move better. I installed the 4GB and I dont see that much difference... I dont know, maybe I'm not seen well.. Maybe I need to reinstall Leopard again..
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Video?

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #7
    Yes... In Tiger the dock animation was smother than Leopard... For example!
     
  8. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #8
    Change to the 2D dock then... for my I hardly had any animations in tiger anyways :p
     
  9. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #9
    How do you change to 2D?
     
  10. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #10
    There are multiple ways to do it. Just google 2d leopard dock and you'll find quite a few ways.

    If you have onyx already installed, it has an option in there to change it. If you don't, it's a great utility for optimizing and cleaning out your system plus it allows for some little interface tweaks (such as 2d dock).
     
  11. Live Steam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #11
    Because of the wonderful 5.6 update I was forced to do an archive and install to get my iMac up and running again. Because I purchased it when Leopard was just released, my package came with the Tiger disks and the Leopard upgrade disk. So I had to load Tiger first as the upgrade disk isn't recognized as bootable. Having never used Tiger, I did find it to be quite snappy, however I continued to perform the updates to 10.5.6, figuring it was a clean system with no configuration changes. I rather liked the look and feel of Tiger too.
     

Share This Page