Going Back up to the next level folder

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by NewMacGirl, Apr 27, 2007.

1. NewMacGirl macrumors regular

I am fairly new to my mac which I just love to bits but there are some things which I have to say are better on windows (well until I find out how to do it). Thumbnail or the filmstrip display of photos in a folder (in windows) is worse with the imac I think.

I am used to windows and its fairly easy to move around folders eg if you click on a folder and then a folder within that folder it's very easy by using the BACK arrow to go back up to the higher level folder (ie the one containing the one you were just in)

Anybody know how do I do this with the mac? -I keep on having to start from scratch with the finder. When I right click there is no back option and I can't find it anywhere. I know there must be a way

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

With your unused hand, hold down the Apple key next to the space-bar, and click on the little folder icon at the top of each Finder window.

If that's too much to bother with, use 'Customise Toolbar' under the View menu to add the Path icon to every window that you open in Finder.

3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

This one's good, because Cmd-Down arrow takes you in the opposite direction (note that in OS X, it's cmd-down that opens an app or folder and not return/enter, which renames it). So you can very easily cmd-up and cmd-down through a hierarchy. :)

Related to the image viewing thing, I've just seen the filmstrip thing in Windows a couple of times. I think the "best" thing to do is to just let iPhoto take care of photos -- everything of "importance" is in iPhoto for me, and it's very easy, as long as you let yourself not worry about it and let iPhoto deal with organizing them.