Going From 10.4 to 10.5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by moxi333, Apr 27, 2009.

1. moxi333 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone :)

I have searched through the internet, and here as well, as best as i could, and sadly... I did not find the answer to my question.

That question is quite simple, and only needs a brief answer.

My question:

I am running Mac OS X 10.4.11 (Intel) currently, and I want to upgrade to Mac OS X 10.5.5 (Leopard) But I am curious...

If i upgrade, Will this screw up my iMac in anyway at all? Jumping from such a huge upgrade, without going to the lower versions first?

Thanks' In advance all!

P.S.
    Im new to iMac's so bare with me here :(

2. SkyBell macrumors 604

SkyBell

3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Nope, you shouldn't have a problem at all. I've upgraded a few Macs to Leopard and never had a problem at all :)

4. David2070 macrumors member

You should be OK.

I did this exact upgrade a couple of weeks ago and had absolutely no problems.

5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

That said, it's always better to do a fresh install than to upgrade. You get that new computer smell. ;) If you've got the time and inclination to set everything up again, I say go that way. However, if you do decide to take the easy route and upgrade, you shouldn't have any issues.

6. moxi333 thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok, thank you all for such a quick reply! :)

Really appreciate it, really great forum i found here :)

Also, Will i lose any applications/programs that have been installed and any other information?

I guess its not a huge loss, but would defiantly be nice to keep it all.

7. madog macrumors 65816

madog

The most problems I've had with Leopard involved updating from previous versions. When 10.5.0 was announced, there were only a handful of machines that upgraded without incident from 10.4.x (in my experience). Anything before that, 10.3/.2, was a surefire way to cause whacky problems with a system.