Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RipsMctits

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 19, 2011
So I'm a noob trying to figure my way around iOS coding. I have most of the app in View Controllers already set up in my main storyboard, tied together with segues. I have buttons back and forth to most of the VCs in the main storyboard. In order to do some specific coding, I found it necessary to create a few separate XIBs. I have figured out how to go from my storyboard VC to the proper XIBs without a problem, but I've hit a snag with programming a "Back" button to get to the main storyboard VC that I'm coming from originally.

Using the same code I used to go from the storyboard VC to the XIB doesn't work. The simulator logs the click, but instead of getting the VC I want, it just goes to a black screen. So now I'm stuck. Any help is appreciated.

Suspended
May 1, 2010
California
Is there a way you can post the code? I'm no expert on storyboard, but I understand there's some aspects that are controlled in the settings.

In other words, some things are controlled in sometimes convoluted settings and it's hard to post all the settings.

On the other hand, I also understand that everything done in storyboard can be done in code.

RipsMctits

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 19, 2011
Here is the code for the working buttons from the Storyboard VC:

Code:
- (IBAction)artbuttonpressed:(id)sender {

NSLog(@"artclick");

ArtViewController *artViewController = [[ArtViewController alloc] init];

[self presentViewController:artViewController animated:YES completion:nil];

And the same code used for the back button:

Code:
- (IBAction)backbuttonpressed:(id)sender {

NSLog(@"backclick");

WhatsNearby *whatsnearby = [[WhatsNearby alloc] init];

[self presentViewController:whatsnearby animated:YES completion:nil];