Going Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DetroitRockCity, Jun 28, 2009.

1. DetroitRockCity macrumors member

Hello everyone, long time Macrumors lurker. I am a video production student, and I love video editing.
    This fall I am going to use the student discount to buy the 2.66GHz quad core Mac Pro. I am looking at editing HD video (AVCHD), on Final Cut Studio 2. Will this Mac Pro handle it?

I am going to take the money I save from the student discount, and choose the ATi 4870 upgrade option. Is it known yet how much the 4870 will be used by OS X 10.6? Down the road I will eventually upgrade to 8GB of RAM.

This will be my first "pro" product. I probably sell my 20" aluminum iMac and use as funding for an HD camcorder (as I have only been using Standard Def equipment).

2. DetroitRockCity thread starter macrumors member

I have another big question to add: I see people are buying the PC version of the 4870 and flashing the BIOS. Does this cripple it in any way? My friend said that with the PC version of the 4870 card, that the monitor will not show any picture until OS X has fully loaded.

3. Andrew Henry macrumors 6502a

Your friend is WRONG, when you FLASH the card it acts just as though it was the Mac version of the 4870, you will see the boot screen and everything, the only time that you wouldn't see those things, is if you used the Netkas injectors, because those load when OS X loads.

4. DetroitRockCity thread starter macrumors member

Is there a guide on how to do this the right way, without the Netkas injectors?

Also, if I flash it, will it have problems with further OS X updates?

From what I have gathered on the forums here, is that the XFX 4870 1GB is the way to go. And, it is much cheaper. the upgrade w/ student discount is $180 for a 4870 512GB. I would love to pay $150 for a 4870 1GB.

5. Andrew Henry macrumors 6502a