Going to try an iMac setup vs nMP

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macpro2000, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    I was all set to get a new Mac Pro to go with my 30" Cinemas, but then decided to try a maxed out iMac with a couple extra thunderbolts. It all comes tomorrow so I will try it for a week and see how I like it. I guess if I miss the extra inches in the screens, I'll just return them and order a Mac Pro.

    What does everyone think the verdict will be?
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    What's the usage model here? What apps and main function?

    I was also set to buy a new Mac Pro but decided to be a bit more economical. The 3.5GHz i7 iMac is quite fast.
     
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    You'll be happy with it. I have a 3.5GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD and 4GB GTX780M.

    It's very much comparable to a Mac Pro and does a superb job handling videos.
     
  4. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #4
    I've got the exact same machine. In everything but OpenCL and SSD sequential read speed it beats the new 4-core Mac Pro.
     
  5. Mago macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Location:
    Beyond the Thunderdome
    #5
    If you not in a hurry, wait for WWDC, Apple must launch the iMac Pro, plus the Thunderbolt Display 2,both 4k 27" and in Black, the new iMac Pro supposed to have Xeon Quad-core or high end i7-4770k plus dual Gpu (either radeon or firepro) only SSD and starting price well over 3000$
     
  6. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #6
    I think you need to wake up. That's a pipe dream and I'm pretty sure I know what was in the pipe that you smoked.
     
  7. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #7
    Well got it up and running with the 2 Thunderbolts...the 1TB SSD does scream I must say, and it is a lot cooler in my office. The thunderbolts do for sure exhibit much more glare than the new iMac. I'm going to give it a fair shot for the week.
     
  8. tarproductions macrumors member

    tarproductions

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Held out for a nMP for a long time (still on my MP 1,1) but was just thinking about pulling the trigger on the 2013 iMac top of the line. Any word on the successor to the graphics cards?
     
  9. slayerizer macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    +1

    just tired of people that want a new model every month.

    ----------

    I don't know why they still don't offer displays with laminated screen other than the iMac. I'm sure you will enjoy this setup!
     
  10. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #10
    Million dollar question
     
  11. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #11
    The imac and thunderbolt screens totally pale in comparison to the 30s. I think i could live with it if the thunderbolts at least were made like the imac screens and the same height. Theyll prob end up going back this week. Apple needs more refurbs anyway right?
     
  12. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #12
    well that didn't take long!

    not sure what your work-flow is, but as the days tick by i am having a harder and harder time faulting the *computing power* of the late 2013 iMac i7. for most tasks (not constant video production) it is pretty powerful. still photography, audio and virtual machines are big for me.

    now, as far as displays go that is another matter.

    is the TBD similar to the LED ACD?

    the 27" iMac screen isn't so bad, i find, but i haven't used a TBD. what is so much worse about it?
     
  13. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #13
    It's all about the increased glare (huge), and the fact that they don't align with the iMac (petty I know), but they aren't exactly cheap. It's actually no fault to the iMac at all.
     
  14. macpro2000, Jan 27, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2014

    macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #14
    Which setup looks better? Also noting the iMac setup would need to take down the 30" on the wall as well. And yes, I know the iSight ages the old setup. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #15
    Looks better for what? Do you actually use all 4 30" displays or do you just like having it to show off? I'm not faulting you for it - I've bought plenty of hardware that I didn't really need...

    Otherwise, only you can validate what you do with them and which setup is better. If you need 4 displays, then you need 4 displays and no matter how good the iMac is, it won't do what you need.

    So you tell us - which tool is better? 4x 30" on a slower CPU or 3x 27" on a faster CPU...
     
  16. fig macrumors 6502a

    fig

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #16
    I think this is the issue a lot of users are going to see in the short term.

    Until pro apps are written to take advantage of OpenCL, which it doesn't seem like many do at the moment, I don't think the nMP is going to offer a huge advantage over the iMac.
     
  17. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #17
    What do you all think of this setup until the new thunderbolts come out? Or do I just take back the iMac and get a nMP and use all 4 30"s?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #18
    Come to the conclusion...the iMac is going back and going to order a 6 Core Mac Pro. Then I have what I want and it's faster anyway. Plus I can always upgrade to new displays once new Thunderbolts come out. I'll just have to wait a couple of months. No biggie.
     
  19. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #19
    are you just asking us what looks better in a photo?

    honestly, how could we give you meaningful opinions if you don't even tell us how you use this.

    i'm thinking that a person who needs 4x30" displays generally knows why they need them. if they have to ask, it's probably just for show.

    at this point -- unless you give us further information -- i have to put you into the latter category.

    nothing wrong with that, but it seems unlikely that you need four 30" displays and that there 27" displays will not be fine.
     
  20. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #20
    From the pictures at least, this (iMac + 2 30" displays) actually looks better than the iMac with the 2 Thunderbolt displays.
     
  21. rasputin666 macrumors member

    rasputin666

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #21
    this stopped being about 'need' a long time ago....and is that a MS Mouse on the desk? :eek:
     
  22. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #22
    Nope, Logitech...I hate wireless mice. I like more precision.

    ----------

    Bear, that's what I thought, with a ton less glare.
     
  23. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #23
    iMac and thunderbolts are returned. Someone will hopefully get a 1tb ssd surprise. :)
     
  24. mrsavage1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #24

    Could you explain more how you came to this conclusion?
     
  25. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #25
    No fault of the iMac...just that the thunderbolts are horrible in comparison.
     

Share This Page