Good book for Flash Web design.

iGary

Original poster
May 26, 2004
Randy's House
I am going to build my photography site in Flash, I've decided.

Aside form the Macromedia Books, there are a tone on Amazon.

Any recomendations are really appreciated. :D

Edit: I did a search, but nothing close came up for me.

clayj

macrumors 604
Jan 14, 2005
visiting from downstream
As someone who's been programming in Flash for a number of years now, I have never once found ANY book that's good at explaining Flash... not one. Everything I've learned about Flash has been self-taught (via experimentation).

If you find a good Flash book, let me know. :)

Espnetboy3

macrumors 6502
Feb 1, 2003
I to want to learn some flash. They teach it at my school but I have heard the same exact thing from people who know flash well. They just learned themselves from using the program.

dornoforpyros

macrumors 68040
Oct 19, 2004
Calgary, AB
Yeah flash is kinda odd when compared to HTML or other web technologies(php, css, javascript) there's really not "wrong" or "right" way to do it.
I think the most common reaction whenever a person opens up another person's .flas is "WTF is this person doing? This is WRONG!" just because everyone does it their own way.

I have a few textbooks from school but like most ppl I found them to be quite useless.

pulsewidth947

macrumors 65816
Jan 25, 2005
I've bought a couple of books for flash, but i've always ended up using the internet for learning flash. If you are going to buy a book ask around on the Kirupa forums, they'll recommend a good book - probably an actionscript bible or something.

Theres an awful lot of awesome information on Kirupa and its forums, including a really nice resizing slideshow which I initially used to display my photography on the web.

iGary

Original poster
May 26, 2004
Randy's House
Thanks, all.