good c compiler

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by stone315, Jul 18, 2008.

1. stone315 macrumors regular

hi, i'm a newbie programmer, i'm going into college in the fall and the introductory course is in java. however, i want some programming experience before i go in, so i decided to teach myself c. i bought kernighan and ritchie, and i was wondering if anyone could recommend a good c compiler for a mac for me. thanks!

2. bartelby macrumors Core

There's GCC included in XCode that comes with your mac.

3. stone315 thread starter macrumors regular

4. lee1210 macrumors 68040

lee1210

gcc is the most widespread C compiler, and you'll be able to transfer your knowledge to many other platforms and architectures.

Now is not the time for XCode or other IDEs. Learn to use gcc, gdb, and other tools independently first.

-Lee

5. stone315 thread starter macrumors regular

ok thanks. is there any difference between gcc for windows and for mac? like if i type the exact same thing on each one, i'll get the same result, right? i'm just asking cause my macbook hasn't come in yet, so i'm running off my home pc until it does. i was going to use my girlfriend's macbook while she's in italy, but i don't want to download stuff to her computer.

EDIT: alright, i've been running vista for 4 days now and i want to throw this goddamn hp out my window. it's not a mac, so i can't use fetch as an ftp, so i'm trying to use filezilla. i downloaded the setup file, and now i'm trying to install it on my computer, but for every individual file in the setup program i get an error message that says "error opening file for writing". any ideas on how to fix this, or for another free ftp?

6. yeroen macrumors 6502a

yeroen

For ftp on Windows, use the Cygwin command line.

Or Windows Powershell, which sucks compared to Cygwin, but tends to impress Windows users who are used to the vestigial command line support offered by command.exe.

7. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent