Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

53x12

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Feb 16, 2009
I am in the market for a new camera and wan't a nice compact p&s camera. I am going on a trip to Argentina (Patagonia and Buenos Aires) in a few months and want a new camera to shoot with. The camera I have been using is an old dog that I have had for a good 5-6 yrs, an old Minolta 3.2 megapixel camera. It is really hard for me to tell based on just playing with the cameras for a few minutes in the store which one I will be happy with. I'm hoping that some of you guys with experience could offer some good advice.

I am still a newb when it comes to digital photography. Here are just a few of the specs that I would prefer in a new camera:

- At least ~10MP-12MP camera
- Want a camera with a high quality lens and sensor
- Small enough to carry in coat pocket and while skiing/hiking
- Priced under ~$400
- Ability to shoot some HD video shots is a bonus (but the more I think about it the more I want the camera to be a great camera, I can always use a camcorder if I am planning to take extended clips)
- Prefer a wider lens, 25 or 28mm??
- Want a good sized, quality LCD screen
- Good user interface with easy to use buttons/functions
- Don't want micro-SD
- Value photo quality and clarity over gizmos in general (i.e. face recognition, smile recognition...etc.)

Through my initial research I have come across two cameras that I like. I'm leaning towards the Panasonic.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3

panasonic_zs3_01.jpg

Canon PowerShot SX200 IS

Canon%20PowerShot%20SX200%20IS(2).jpg

What recommendations do you guys have?

Dennisk

macrumors newbie
Oct 25, 2009
Denmark
One of my friends has the SX200 and its not very good in low light settings.
I don't know that much about the ZS3 (TZ7 in my country). Only that it should be VERY good in video mode.