Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bobbytomorow

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 10, 2007
Left Coast
I was partitioning an external storage drive with iPartition and ipartition stopped and said it couldn't complete its task and now I am stuck with a drive I cannot access, or rather I cannot access the data that is on it. Drive is greyed out in disk utility. It was not written over however, which I am hoping is a good thing. I have little to no experience with data recovery so some advice on what app to use would be swell.

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Another recommendation here for Data Rescue.

I've also heard good things about "Stellar Phoenix Data Recovery" (probably works in a manner very similar to DR3), although I haven't tried it.

As you discovered, it can be risky to attempt a repartition without backing up the data on the drive first.

As one who has had to resort to Data Rescue to retrieve data from a damaged partition, I'd like to offer a few tips.

You may find that with the drive's partition info damaged, it may not be possible to get _any_ of the old partitions to mount on the desktop. The problem is that DR3 or Stellar Phoenix can't "reach" the damaged partitions, either, because the drives won't "mount up".

If this is the case, don't give up. There is a seemingly radical and dangerous "workaround" that _can_ work. In fact, it DID work for me when nothing else would.

That workaround is to use Disk Utility to completely RE-INITIALIZE the drive into a single, empty partition (yes, I mean what I wrote).

DO NOT "ZERO OUT" THE DRIVE (shouting intentional).
Just "intialize" it.

Yes, this WILL -destroy- all pre-existing partition info on the drive. This was EXACTLY my intent when I did it, because it was all-but impossible to "fix" the damaged partition information (and thus, to mount the drives).