Good Deal for a Macbook Retina 15 inch?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macAllen, Apr 1, 2015.

1. macAllen macrumors 6502

macAllen

I found this listing on craigslist and I honestly need a second opinion.

15" Macbook Pro Retina (Mid 2012)
    2.3 GHz Core i7
    8GB Memory
    256GB of SSD

All for $550 and in perfect mint condition.

So what do you guys think? I currently have a MBA 13" mid 2012... Im a student that is looking for an upgrade, with a reasonable budget, however I saw this and to me its such a good offer to pass up...

2. thadoggfather Suspended

thadoggfather

sounds too good to be true

3. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

If it's real

It's a bargain...

4. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

>Craigslist

Yeah.

Meet up with the seller in a public place, bring a friend with you, check the laptop in person before handing over the money, that's what I would do.

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

As a starting point, you can check Mac2Sell, eBay (including completed sales), and Amazon for prices of similar models, to get an idea of what a reasonable price may be. Don't check just once source, but get an average from all sites for a more accurate idea. Some sites may be higher/lower than is realistic. Then adjust the price to account for condition, configuration, remaining AppleCare coverage (if any), etc. If the model is recent enough, you can also check the Apple refurbished store to see what similar models are selling for.

6. TLmac macrumors member

I've been looking for a Mid 2014, 13' Refurb on Apple, 8gb/256 SSD/i5 for about $1150-ish...

Even though this is Craigslist...I also think it sounds too good to be true! I'd be afraid something was wrong with it or just a bad deal! It's always good to save $$ but I'd be afraid of getting s c r e w e d!!

7. macAllen thread starter macrumors 6502

macAllen