Good External hard disk (wireless)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Michielfm, Sep 17, 2011.

1. Michielfm, Sep 17, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011

Michielfm macrumors member

Dear Mac'ers,

I Have recently bought a MacBook PRO 15" 2.0. The computer is awesome (no news for you guys and girls) and I love it :eek::apple:!

As I'm starting University in 2 weeks I need to get an external hard disk mainly for backups (using time machine).
    The best thing would be if it where a wireless hard disk that I can put some where in my room and when I get in my room it should backup automatically (I think this is how time machine works:confused:).
    So what I think I need is an external hard disk for mac. It should have about 500GB storage and it should be wireless.
    I had a look on the apple site where I found some nice hard disk like Time Capsule but they are to expensive for me as I'm just a student.. So I was wondering if you guys could help me out with some hard disks that are not so expensive and that work with time machine. It would be nice to have it wireless.
    I will say it again in a shorter version:

HARD DISK:
    - For MacBook PRO (Time Machine)
    - 500 GB storage
    - Wireless
    - kinda cheap ;)
    - good quality (not pro or awesome just no junk..)

Hope you guys can help me out!

Kind regards and ty!

Michielfm :apple:

2. old-wiz macrumors G3

Never heard of a plain hard disk that worked wireless. In order for it to be wireless, there has to be something to do the wireless side. Time Capsule is overpriced anyway, but it does include the wireless part.

Hard disks come with interfaces like USB, Firewire, SATA, etc. None to my knowledge come with wireless.

3. Michielfm thread starter macrumors member

So the only wireless hard disk is a Time Capsule hard disk?

And then, what is the difference between a USB, Firewire or SATA disc? And is there also a Firebolt one?

4. ataboc macrumors 6502