Good games never run on my mac!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by manmeet, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. manmeet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    India
    #1
    Hi, I am manmeet. I am having a macbook and I copied a game "tony hawk pro skater 4" from my previous emac. But when I run it, it will say that the application tony hawk pro skater 4 quit unexpectedly and it gives me three options
    1 ignore
    2 report
    3 relaunch

    When I click relaunch, It shows the same message!
     
  2. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #2
    You can't usually just copy a game from one Mac to another, you'll need the original disc as it probably installs various files into the system/library folders.
     
  3. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #3
    You can copy it over perfectly fine. However first you will need to create an archive of it or a zip image of it. So what you will have to do is find the main game folder, right click it and either "compress," or create "archive" of it. Then bring that compressed file over to your new macbook. Let me know how that works.
     
  4. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    That doesn't make any sense, you don't need to zip it. But, it certainly wouldn't be a bad idea to reinstall the game from the original disc. That's one of the first things to try.

    I would check that you Mac can run the game too. If the game is older, it might not be made to run on an Intel Mac and/or have problems with newer versions of OS X. Check to see if there have been any patches released.
     
  5. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #5
    Actually there have been problems transferring files especially games from computer to computer if you dont zip the entire folder. You can test it yourself. Send one game to your other computer unzipped and it will have the same result as he is describing. If you compress the entire folder and send it, the game will run perfectly fine.
     
  6. colocolo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #6
    Unless you are doing some kind of ASCII ftp transfer over systems with different encoding, or the transfer is failing mid way because some file is corrupted, I can't see it happening :)
    At most, you will get a faster transfer speed because of the overhead in packeting individual files, but once the files arrive to their destination, it matters nothing how the files were formatted (keep in mind we are talking Mac to Mac transfer over afp here).
    If it doesn't run, it might very well be because of a preference file stored somewhere else in your computer. It will have absolutely nothing to do with the fact you compressed it first or not.

    Update: looking into the problem a little deeper, it seems the game in question was last updated in October 2003, supporting up to OS X 10.3. Even Aspyr's Game Agent doesn't mention the game. Being this the case, there is a high probability that it won't run on an Intel Mac natively.
     
  7. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #7
    hi and welcome.

    one of the problems you may experience is that if THPS 4 is the one that came with the computer you will need a certain config file in the system. and put that file in the exact place on the new computer.
    that registers the game to that computer. because it was a game that came with the computer and not retail. if it's retail i have no idea sorry.

    edit: just looked at the universal binary game list and it shows

    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 Aspyr PowerPC 1.0.2 Won't install on Leopard 10.5. Installer won't accept serial number.

    but THPS 3 works

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Universal_Binary_Games
     
  8. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #8
    Have you tried it with this exact game? I've tried quite a few and many simply wont work just by doing that as the installer puts files in different place on the HD.
     
  9. Snowfoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #9
    Im not sure i could be incorrect in my statement but it seems that whenever i try and run mac games that were not made to run on Leopard but for older Os X's such as Panther or Tiger they seem to not run as good as they would on older Os X's an example of this would be Halo: Combat Evolved. Im not sure why this is it may be a compatibilty issue between the new Os x's and Leopard Or newer Mac computers.
     
  10. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    Snowfoe: do you have the Intel version? Because Halo is UB now.
     
  11. Snowfoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    Odd. I've used both the UB and PPC-only versions, and the UB is definitely faster on Intel hardware than the PPC version is on PPC hardware for me.
     
  13. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #13
    Mac games almost never do that. Most of them are drag'n'drop.

    --Eric
     
  14. appledyl macrumors regular

    appledyl

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Email the manufacturer and ask them what version you should download, then download it. The business is nearly always right.
     
  15. paricleman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #15
    where can I get halo

    where do you get halo mac. cheap? Anything to make halo pc run on my iMac?
     
  16. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    eBay.

    Throw it in a Cider shell.
     
  17. paricleman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #17
    what?

    ...what's a cider shell? This is my first mac, so I'm used to all games working for my computer.
     
  18. manmeet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    India
    #18
    Thanks for your reply but the same thing is happening but I think that you are saying to again copy by zipping it but I had to sell my emac!
    So can you or anyone help me because I love that game!!!
     
  19. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #19
    Install it from the CD
     
  20. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #20
    Actually you do, or at least I had to. I installed a new HDD on my iMac and it threw up an error when trying to copy my .app files from the backup drive to the new drive. I had to archive the file on the backup, drag it onto my iMac and then unarchive it. Or the quick route was to copy the files using Bootcamp and Macdrive.

    OP be sure to copy both library folders over too.
     
  21. manmeet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    India
    #21
    **** man, on the manual, it's written that it work on imac g4 and e-mac only!
     
  22. manmeet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    India
    #22
    simple

    **** man, on the manual, it's written that it work on imac g4 and e-mac only!
     
  23. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia

Share This Page