Good geocaching app?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by tiepolo, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. tiepolo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone know of a good geocaching app? I would like to start trying out geocaching with my son and I figured the iPhone would be the perfect device to make an app for it. Seems like the ones I found on the app store didn't get great reviews, but I would like to hear some other input.
     
  2. optophobia macrumors 6502a

    optophobia

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hudson MA
    #2
    Yeah all the apps are pretty lame. I would suggest just using the internet on the iphone through the geocaching website, and a compass and GPS unit.
     
  3. milerich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #3

    The Geocaching app by Groundspeak got 4.5 stars out of 5 from 80 ratings. It has many great features, including topography and satellite maps, as well as a compass. It also allows you to save caches for offline viewing. At $9.99 it is a bit pricey, but I used it on my Curve for years, and love it even more on the iPhone.

    Worth the money for me since I average 6 caches per day right now!!
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    +1

    I use this app on my iPhone 3GS and it works well. Integrates nicely with the Geocache web site.
     
  5. tiepolo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #5
    Awesome, thanks! I also saw a nice GPS app called MotionX GPS. It looks really good for hiking and biking and other such activities. That's only $2.99 so I may try that for hiking as well. Thanks for the input!
     
  6. LastLine macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #6
    +1 again

    I've just started getting into Geocaching since buying my 3GS and I love this app, the only minor issue is I can't figure out how to log a find through the App and have it appear on the site, but otherwise it's fantastic!
     
  7. MadGoat macrumors 65816

    MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    +1 I use the geocaching app all the time, it integrates everything from the site that you need.
     
  8. MadGoat macrumors 65816

    MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    you log it on the app and it saves it on the site, but you have to go to the site to actually publish the field notes.
     
  9. raluce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #9
    MadGoat, I think you have this backwards. You can't log the cache from the app, only from the website. You can write your fieldnotes from the app.
     
  10. navajarunner macrumors regular

    navajarunner

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #10
    This thread got me interested in finding a geocaching app myself. Although this may not be what the OP wants, I found an app called mySpots. It will let you customize spots- and more importantly, you can save a photo to match its location. And its only .99 cents!
     
  11. milerich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #11

    Correct, but you need to have a geocaching.com membership to record field notes. Then you can add the notes as logs on the website. You can sign up through the site, and then log on through the settings menu of the app.

    Membership is free, but there is a Premium membership as well. Not sure what the benefits are as I just have a free membership.
     
  12. MadGoat macrumors 65816

    MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    Field notes ... Logging same difference. It still gets uploaded to GC.com
     
  13. MadGoat macrumors 65816

    MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Membership include pocket querries, example you can set up a PQ to be emailed to you once a week with all the new caches within say 20km from you. Or you can now directly grab them in the app.
     
  14. chadrob30 macrumors 6502

    chadrob30

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my Mac.
    #14
    You can now log your finds from the field using the Geocaching app. Now if they'd let us upload photos from the field it would be just about perfect.
     
  15. firedogut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #15
    How accuate are the Apps? It's not like I will be 100 yards from the spot is it?
     
  16. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #16
    How about the original [app]Geocaching[/app] ?
     
  17. vertigo235 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #17
    I highly recomend the official Geocaching app, if you have 3GS, it works aawesome due to the magnetic compass.

    If you're disapointed, then you're expecting way to much.
     
  18. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Using the Groundspeak app on my 3GS, it always gets me within ten feet of the cache.
     
  19. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #19
    Can anyone get address/postal code to work with the groundspeak geocaching app? Not having any luck with it. Would like to find some caches ahead of time when we travel.
     
  20. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #20
    From where I live, theres about 200 geocaches from 10milles around me... The most common are hidden in some forests.
     
  21. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    I never used this feature as I always just click the "find near me" button and let the phone use GPS/wif-fi to locate me. After reading your message I tried searching by zip code and my address and neither works.
     
  22. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #22
    They just fixed the problem with an update, works fine now.
     
  23. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #23
    Yep.. just installed the update and it is fixed.
     

Share This Page