Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thebro20

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 7, 2014
Hi everyone,

so I'm new to photography and am interested in getting into photoshop. I'm a little iffy on lightroom and aperture's price tags so I'm wondering if anyone has any good suggestions for a cheaper or even free alternative?

Bending Pixels

macrumors 65816
Jul 22, 2010
Adobe's Creative Cloud Photography program is actually a decent price at $10 a month. Yes, it's subscription only, but.....there are far more presets available for Lightroom (both free and paid) and more training for both Lr and PS CC.

Aperture is on it's last legs, so don't buy it. Photos for OS X (due out in early 2015) will replace both iPhoto and Aperture. If the iOS and iCloud versions are any indication of what the OS X version will be like, it'll be worth the wait.

For Photoshop alternatives, Pixelmator is a good choice. As to Lightroom alternatives, there is DXO Optics Pro and Capture One Pro - both pricey, both with little third party support.

I've been using Photoshop since I got back into photography in 1999. I use Lightroom about 95% of the time and only occasionally have to flip an image to Photoshop.

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
If you are new to photography don't bother with editing much at this time, just take photos and get to know your camera. Use iPhoto or any software that came with your camera for starters. Lightroom and Aperture are around $80 - 100 one time expenses and PhotoShop is at least $120 per year on a subscription basis. It also requires something akin to a degree in Nuclear Particle Physics to use fully. No joke.

Welcome to the (potentially) second most expensive hobby I know of. Auto racing tops it.

Dale

MCAsan

macrumors 601
Jul 9, 2012
Atlanta