Good USB Flash Drive to get?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by amycishere, Dec 7, 2007.

1. amycishere macrumors 6502

I would like some type of storage device to store all my school documents, some ppt/keynote presentations for a backup. Should I go with 4 GB? Still have about a year of college left. All these reviews I'm reading...I don't know which brand is best and whatnot! Have a macbook. Sorry I'm new at this.

Something that goes in and out of the plug fairly easy, I'm disabled.

Thanks!!

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

What I've found is that the cheaper own-brand ones tend to be substantially slower than some of the branded ones... if you're moving big files about, that can be a little frustrating.

3. emaja macrumors 68000

I have used a SanDisk Cruzer for a few years and it has never let me down.

One thing to look out for is that annoying U3 software that does not work with Macs anyway. I removed it using a took I found online and have never regretted it.

4. wsteineker macrumors 6502a

wsteineker

Avoid the Sony MicroVault at ALL COSTS!!! I've got one of the 2GB models and it's barely faster than USB1.1. I've heard good things about the Sandisk Cruzer line of drives. That's what I'm checking into next. Anybody else have some recommendations?

5. yippy macrumors 68020

yippy

I have an old 256MB Sandisk Cruizer mini that I love. Fast and never had a problem with it.

Needing more space I bought a 2GB Kingston DataTraveler for like $5. It is sooo much slower than the Sandisk and takes forever to mount. While you can get them for dirt cheap I don't recommend it because it is so slow.

Sandisk, in my (limited) experience is a very good brand of flash drives.

6. amycishere thread starter macrumors 6502

7. JonnyBowley macrumors member

I just purchased a Corsair Survivor 4GB - comes with TrueCrypt encryption and it's virtually indestructable - waterproof, crush-proof, hammer-proof...