Good webcam for a G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WalnutSpice, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #1
    Sorry for all the G5 posts. But I'm curious if anyone knows of any nice webcams that I can use with my G5. Considered the iSight but 240p. I'd like to find something 480p at the least, would definitely like 720p though but probably not realistic
     
  2. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #2
    My Logitech C615 worked great with my iBook on Leopard back when Skype worked. Ask @gavinstubbs
     
  3. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #3
    I am a fan of the Logitech webcams myself.
     
  4. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #4
    The iSight is 640x480 which is actually quite good (awful close to 480p). If you haven't tried one, they really do have a great picture and the microphone is still excellent. They really shouldn't be costing much these days, as I got a couple 6-7 years ago at around $30 each.
     
  5. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #5
    Oh I thought iSight was 240p. 640x480 would be just fine. I'll probably look into that
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    You honestly can't beat the iSight.

    Heck, I have one on my Mac Pro at work for Facetime use(I don't use Skype). Under Mavericks, opening the iris on the iSight launches Facetime.

    Yes they are a bit behind on resolution, but as said the mic is great on them. I also like the fact that they have a built-in cover over the lens for when they're not in use.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    Plus, they do not tie up a USB port as they are solely FireWire. If you get one with the brackets then it will even attach to a PowerBook, iBook, or any Apple display.
     
  8. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #8
    I want an iSight badly, but the machine I'd use it with is only FW800
     
  9. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #9
  10. lastmile macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #10
    You can get a FW800 to FW400 adapter or cable though I believe it will drop the speed of anything else on that bus to FW400.
     
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11
    The port? Or FW800 as a whole? My Time Machine is on a FW800 port, since my 2010 MacPro has no TB
     
  12. lastmile macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #12
    I'm not sure where I got that idea about the slowdown though I think I was related to using a FW400 device on one of the Mac Pro's FW800 ports affecting the other port. I can't find any reference to an effect on sped other than the following. If this is correct and you only have one FW800 port then you would want your iSight to be the last item in your FW chain.

    http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...0-and-400-cause-all-devices-to-use-400-speeds
     
  13. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #13
    Hmm, alright, cool. I might get that cable soon, since my iPod FW Cable is useless without it. Both of my cinema displays have FW400.
    I am gonna go out on a limb and assume that the device at the bottom is 'port 2'
    Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 11.28.50 AM.png
     

Share This Page