GoodThe Late 2008 MBP can support 8GB RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by robbiluo, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. robbiluo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    China
    #1
    I upgrade my MBP(C2D 2.4GHz,Late 2008 MBP) to 8GB RAM(4GB X 2),and the system is stability as ever.The official said the maximal memory it can support is 4GB,and many people said it can support 6GB.
    ???? 2010-12-29 ??08.38.58.png
     
  2. iRez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
  3. youngmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #3
    robbiluo i have the same mbp, does it make the system faster.
    because i have 4 gb in mine and my system never use the whole 4 gb. i rarely use so many apps at the same time. is it worth it?
     
  4. POX macrumors member

    POX

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #4
    Late 2008 is unibody.
     
  5. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #5
    Then, no.
     
  6. robbiluo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    China
    #6
    8GB will not make your system faster,the ssd can make,I think.
    If you use virtual machines ,The 8GB RAM can give you much better experience。Now I allot 2GB to the windows7 in PD,it runs very smoothly。
     
  7. POX macrumors member

    POX

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #7
    What brand of RAM did you use?
     
  8. robbiluo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    China
    #8
    SamSung DDR3 1066
     
  9. POX macrumors member

    POX

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #9
    No problems whatsoever?

    I´ve already read some threads about 8GB on late 2008 MBP and people report problems and have to boot SL on 64bit mode...
     
  10. nilsemil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #10
  11. pricej636 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    Just because the machine sees the 8GB doesn't mean it will use all of it. The problem many were having is when you got above the threshold of what the machine is able to use (either 4 or 6GB) the rest would go to swap.

    I really don't know what you guys are doing to use more than 4GB. I very rarely see over 33% memory usage, and I think the highest I have ever seen is 50%. If I upgraded is would be just to geek out and not because I actually needed it.
     
  12. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London

Share This Page