Google AMP mobile search is ****ing with our browsing!!

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by d5aqoëp, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. d5aqoëp macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #1
    This started a week ago. Whenever I search for a website on google, for example verge or even macrumors article, tapping on the link opens up an odd tab like page. See the red arrow below.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The bar not only takes up a good amount of top space, but if you tap the lone close button, it takes you back to google.

    Why do I need that huge arse close button when I can simply press the back button at the bottom left?
    I also suspect that this enables Google to track our mobile browsing habits even more.

    But on google search results page, if you load desktop version, tapping on any search result link does not show this behaviour.

    I have so many times tapped on this close button and it takes be back to google search results.

    So these days, regressions are fancy packed as updates and shoved down our throats.
    Anyone having same behaviour? I tried this on iPhone 7 and 7 Plus.
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    This is basically AMP: http://www.wired.com/2016/02/googles-amp-speeding-web-changing-works/

    You can request the desktop version of the page and that should reload it without the AMP container/pieces.
     
  3. NewtonPippin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    #3
    The very definition of a first world problem
     
  4. d5aqoëp, Dec 12, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016

    d5aqoëp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #4
    I am from India!

    Thanks. The comments there are describing the same exact problem as me. I think MacRumors should not implement this feature. Not worth it and people stay on google instead of MacRumors or google is running in background tracking each and every click.

    So how many versions Macromors has?
    1. Mobile version
    2. Tablet version
    3. Desktop version
    4. neutered AMP version

    It must be a nightmare to maintain this site. Though MR has one of the best site designs of all the tech related websites and forums, helping google will never do any good. So much for a responsive design.
     
  5. PJ. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    #5
    You could define most of the issues as that on here. Doesn't mean the OP can't ask the question.
     
  6. PhillyGuy72 macrumors 6502a

    PhillyGuy72

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA USA
    #6
  7. C DM, Dec 14, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016

    C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    As mentioned earlier, requesting the desktop version of the page will (at least usually) reload it without the AMP container.
     
  8. v0lume4 macrumors 68000

    v0lume4

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #8
    Google Amp articles are GREAT when you need a quick bit of information, but really annoying at other times when you actually want to view the full website. Specifically, when you want to read the comments section (because Amp articles omit them often times).

    I believe the purpose is well intentioned (speed; caused by caching articles on google's servers I'm sure) but sometimes I don't want it. I didn't realize that requesting desktop site fixes this, so shout out to @C DM for pointing that out.
     
  9. PhillyGuy72 macrumors 6502a

    PhillyGuy72

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA USA
    #9
    Ok, I feel a little dumb now Haha, I rarely use this feature and forgot all about it since I have to scroll over to the far right for the "Request Desktop Version". Thank you. It's an extra step but at least it works.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #10
    I can make it even easier for you. If you long press here [​IMG]

    You get this. [​IMG]
     
  11. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #11
    And I do agree with the OP, it can be annoying.
     
  12. Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #12
    Holy crap! I learned a new trick. Thank you.
     
  13. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #13
    Not seeing this from google.co.uk

    But switching to DuckDuckGo in safaris settings resolves the issue
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    Just doesn't get as good of results often enough.
     
  15. ^Tripper^ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Disneyland with the Death Penalty
    #15
    This has been infuriating me to no end either. I'm all for faster web page loading but not at the expense of screen real estate. Bloody annoying.
     
  16. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #16
    AMP really sucks, for me it breaks searching on the page. And tap to scroll to top.

    It's shocking the UI doesn't provide a way to load the original site, and we have to resort to other tricks.

    It's shocking there doesn't appear to be a way to disable it
     
  17. d5aqoëp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #17
    AMP adoption is increasing day by day. Getting harder to use google search.
     
  18. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #18
    I didn't know that is Google AMP until today. Looks nice for me cause I use Plus size iPhone.
    But it also causes frustration because it does not actually load a full webpage. Sometimes when I switch away and back, that frame goes away.
    A better solution could be setting up global User Agent on mobile browser so that each time you browse the site, site will always try to load desktop version instead of mobile version upon request.
    Oh, you can drag "request desktop site" icon so that it is closer to left side of share sheet.
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    You can also tap an hold the reload icon in the address/search bar to get the desktop option as well.
     
  20. juniorspank macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    #20
    I've actually switched my iPhone/iPad/Mac to default to Bing because of this.
     

Share This Page