Google+ and photographers

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by compuwar, Jul 13, 2011.

1. rusty2192, Jul 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011

rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

Just another reason why Google is turning into the evil Empire. Where are the Jedi when you need them?

I went ahead and signed up for Google+ last night just for the heck of it since my friend sent me an invite. However, I will NOT be putting any of my photos on there. I don't even usually put them on facebook. That's why I have my own website now to host them. (Not that I'm a professional, or even semi-pro by any means) I just don't trust Google.

2. funkahdafi macrumors 6502

don't panic. every cloud service uses terms like this. see the recent discussion about dropbox. those terms are legally needed by the provider so he can perform service on them. example: you upload a photo to flickr and then use the flickr photo editing feature. the photo editing feature is provided by another provider, not flickr. it's integrated into flickr but it's owned and operated by someone else. flickr needs to gransfer your pnoto to the editing service and thus they need you to license them to do so.

google or any other provider is ot interested in your photo. they make money on advertising, not on stealing intelectual property from their users.

you find the same terms in apple's aperture so they can transfer your photos to a photo printing service.

so... relax.

3. fitshaced macrumors 68000

fitshaced

4. emorydunn macrumors 6502

emorydunn

I find all of the "we're taking your rights" posts to be a bit old. The way I see it there are a few options. You can just not use the service and not have to worry about it. Or you can not post anything that you feel will be a big deal if an "evil corporation" decides they want to use it for "evil things".