Google Apps For Domains

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nahmeanz, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. Nahmeanz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #1
    What is the best way to setup my email that is hosted by Google Apps for Domains?
     
  2. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #3
    If you're running iOS4, set it up like an Exchange account. That's how I have mine setup and it works great.
     
  3. Nahmeanz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #4
    Do you have any instructions on how to do this? Also, will my Google hosted email be pushed to my iPhone 4?
     
  4. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #5
    +1 on the Exchange account.

    I've got it setup so sync contacts, calendar and mail easily enough...

    IMAP is fine, although Exchange will work behind HTTP/HTTPS-only proxies.
     
  5. Nahmeanz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #7
    This is how I set it up:

    Email: username@domain.com
    Server: m.google.com
    Domain: blank
    Username: username@domain.com
    password: password
    Description: Domain

    It looks like everything setup correctly but when I go into my Inbox it says "Cannot Get Mail: The connection to the server failed."
     
  6. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #8
    In your Google App account, do you have it checked to allow mobile syncing?
     
  7. Nahmeanz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
  8. mas90guru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #10
    I found Google Sync to be sporadically unreliable. It would work fine for 6 months then for a month it would have up and down reliability.

    When the iOS4 came out I switched my Google Apps for Domain to regular Gmail because I also wanted threaded message view.

    Using Exchange in my testing (aka Google Sync) was not giving me threaded messages. I think that only works though Gmail setup.
     
  9. btownguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #11
    Are you using the premium (paid) version of Google apps to be able to sync Exchange style?
     
  10. w0ngbr4d macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Findlay, OH
    #12
  11. Nahmeanz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #13
    No I don't have Google Apps Premium, is it worth the upgrade to set up my email through Exchange vs. setting it up through Gmail on the iPhone? Are there features I would be missing?
     
  12. JasonH macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #14
    You can add the account as a normal gmail account, it's painless. Don't bother with exchange.
     
  13. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #15
    I am using the paid version for my own domain account. My bad, I thought the original poster was using the paid version as well.
     
  14. Nahmeanz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #16
    Would my email be pushed if setup through Gmail or Exchange?
     
  15. FreeLunch1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #17
    i was wondering the same thing... and figured it out...

    when managing your domain, there is a setting to enable active sync... check that and your configuration settings for activesync will work..

    remember its when managing your domain and not your email account
     
  16. btownguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #18
    Again, is this specific to the paid version or can the free version do it as well?
     
  17. JasonH macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #19
    It does not get pushed when setup as gmail. It should get pushed when setup as exchange, but I can't vouch for that.
     
  18. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #20
    Something tells me that's just the paid version. I'm on the paid and have that option. And, I think that's why I ended up going with the paid.

    On a plus, it's $50/year as opposed to doing hosted Exchange where there's usually a higher charge per year.
     
  19. FreeLunch1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #21
    free version
     
  20. btownguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #22
    Holy cow, this does work for the free version. Very nice!
     
  21. btownguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #23
    Will this allow you to sync with Outlook on the desktop using an Exchange profile with Google Apps on your own domain as well?
     
  22. SpankWare macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #24
    Without a doubt, as exchange. Just enable the google mobile sync option in the control panel first. I've used this with my personal domain for a while. Works great. Even has the wife's seal of approval.
     
  23. Nahmeanz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #25
    Thanks guys, everything works perfectly after I enabled Google mobile sync.
     

Share This Page