Google changes buttons and search bar size - was Weird UI bug

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by Stridder44, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this, but Google's search bar/button are way bigger than they have been in the past. It just started happening yesterday (perhaps after installing iTunes 9?). Here's some shots to better understand what I mean.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Firefox seems to be doing the same thing. I'm guessing this is a problem on my end, but I have no idea what's going on or how to fix it.
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    Google looks the way same to me. Not that I ever go directly to the google home page.
     
  3. Chrysaor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
  4. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Right, it's just that mine looks way bigger for some reason (buttons, text, and search bar).
     
  5. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Sorry wasn't expressily clear, mine looks the same way as yours Firefox, Opera, Safari.
     
  7. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Ok, so maybe I'm not the only one who's noticing this.

    By the way I'm running 10.6.1.


    Nope, it doesn't seem to do anything at all in fact.
     
  8. glenncal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #8
  9. Europe calling macrumors regular

    Europe calling

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    It's not a mac specific change. Today at the office i noticed it on PC's as well.
     
  10. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #10

    Thank you! I thought I was going crazy.

    Some of the text in the search box is annoyingly large though. I preferred the old way.
     
  11. D A macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #11
    I thought something was broken when I searched on Google a little earlier, damn Google don't change things unannounced!
     
  12. simonshek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #12
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    The quickest google search will reveal that google changed their homepage.
     
  14. iPoTmon macrumors newbie

    iPoTmon

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
  15. DrBroccoli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #15
    The buttons can be restored via Glimmer Blocker, and probably the text size too, I just haven't figured that one out!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    I saw this too and immediately went into my font size options to try to figure out what the problem is. Not a good move on Google's part.
     
  17. user1234 macrumors regular

    user1234

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #17
    Google looks ugly in Safari

    Hey!

    Google went all ugly in Safari yesterday. It looks all linux. I have asked a few friends who doesn't have the problem. An image showing the problem is attached. The buttons are square and ugly, and the text is not what is should be. It only happens on google.com, not on other sites (like macrumors).

    Anybody else have this problem? What could it be? I have deleted all google related cookies and cleared the cache.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #18
    I've merged these two threads together, user1234 see above google has made the changes to their site.
     
  19. user1234 macrumors regular

    user1234

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
    Oh! I thought I looked around for this before I posted. Sorry!

    So Google changed this? Why make it ugly? weird. And also weird that my friends still see the old page. Good to know it's not my computer though. A few weird things have happened since I upgraded to Snow Leopard (Logic freezes, old mail being marked as new, system clock set back to 1:01, 01/01/2001).

    Thanks.
     
  20. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #20
    Google has slightly changed its look

    Anyone else notice this?
    Everything is HUGE on their site now... including the suggestions box. Do they think we all have terrible eye sight?

    Do not like.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #21
    I like having the font a bit larger. :) I don't mind.
     
  22. Brendon Bauer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #22
    I was thinking I accidentally made the text size larger but Command-0 wasn't working lol. Very odd indeed! :p
     
  23. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #23
    +1 I thought I had changed my text size, but nope, it was Google. Sneaky Google. I like it. I dont mind.
     
  24. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #24
    I like it, too. Why make the font so small if there is not enough to fill the entire page anyway? The larger font is easier to read regardless of your eye-sight.
     
  25. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #25
    Fair enough, maybe it's the buttons I'm not digging lol
    But yeah at first I thought I had changed something to do with the size but nope, it's default now!
     

Share This Page