Google Chrome Forces the Nvidia GPU?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Muscle Master, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. Muscle Master macrumors 6502a

    Muscle Master

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #1
    I read something interesting over at Notebook Review..

    Link

    I didn't try Chrome long enough to realize if it's true or not, the UI is ass to me and Safari or Firefox are my browsers of choice.. Has anyone notice a decline in battery life because of this or it's very minimal?
     
  2. Merkava_4 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I thought the Nvidia GPU was being used all the time.
     
  3. Bankaimadness macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    Just out of curiosity if one of the macbook pro GPU dies out can you switch to the other one?
     
  4. Reimer macrumors regular

    Reimer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #4
    Possible result of Chromes GPU acceleration.

    Might be able to disable it by entering "about:flags" in the address bar and disabling the two options for it on that screen.
     
  5. Fubar1977 macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    It`s surprising what triggers it.
    Utorrent for example, fires up my nvidia.
     
  6. Genocyde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    I noticed this yesterday. Is there a quicker way to check which GPU you're on other than going into system profiler and looking at which GPU shows displays are connected to it?
     
  7. perfectshadows macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    England
  8. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #8
    http://codykrieger.com/gfxCardStatus/
     
  9. perfectshadows macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    England
  10. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #10
    You can also force it to stay on whichever GPU as well as assigning profiles for plugged/unplugged but the unplugged profile doesnt work for me.

    Doesn't matter, kid did a good job and I just keep NVIDIA on since I have it plugged in most of the time.
     
  11. Fubar1977 macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #11
    Yup Gfxcardstatus is excellent.
    Should be part of the OS imo.
     
  12. Genocyde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    Thanks for the link, I read a thread a few days ago with someone talking about an application that could show which GPU but I could never find a reference to it. Now I just need to get through the day of using my work windows XP desktop so I can get home to my MBP and install it! :)
     
  13. Blu101 macrumors 6502a

    Blu101

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #13
    I've always noticed lower battery life when using Chrome as opposed to Safari. I use both.
     
  14. bwrairen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #14
    Firefox invokes a change for me. Firefox-bin PID 944
     
  15. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #15
    Have you tried the newest one? I had the problem with the profiles about 4-5 months ago but the new one works great.
     
  16. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #16
    Yes, I have the latest version. As mentioned, its not a big deal as I leave mines plugged in most of the time. If anything, I just change it to Intel if I'm going to be doing little on battery for a while.
     
  17. DarkVinda macrumors regular

    DarkVinda

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    Hi i noticed you have a 13" mbpro late 2010 same as mine - this only comes with the one GFXcard...the 320M...


    Your Sig:

    Apple Macbook Pro 13 (late 2010)
    OS X Snow Leopard / Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 @ 2.4GHz / 4GB DDR3 1066MHz / WLED 1280x800 / OCZ Vertex 2 120GB / 256MB Nvidia GeForce 320M / Lojack / Applecare


     
  18. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #18
    Its due to the way Apple implemented that GPU's framework. When ever a specific framework or API is called then the dedicated GPU turns on instantly. Even if it's not needed or wanted. You can use the intel GPU acceleration with out the nVidia GPU, but Apple won't let you.
     
  19. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #19
    Never mind, it seems to remember the profile but forgets to switch sometimes...like if I unplug it while closed/sleeping it doesnt switch cards.
     
  20. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #20
    Thats what I was talking about, I guess I worded it wrong. I have dynamic for unplugged but when I do it sticks to NVIDIA (with no programs running), and if I turn it to Intel and plug it in it switches like so.
     

Share This Page