Google Chrome Helper not responding

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Shawzborne, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. Shawzborne macrumors 6502a

    Shawzborne

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    Google Chrome Helper keeps not responding here is the sample of the process running the latest mavericks beta

    let me know if you find anything

    thanks


    Shawn
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MeUnix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I noticed the same thing happening when I use Google Chrome. I haven't figured out what/why it is not responding though.
     
  3. bwat47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    #3
    I happened to notice this too, in chrome 30 and 31 beta on mavericks GM. Also happens with opera which is chromium-based (in opera it happens to one of the gpu processes as opposed to the helper process). It doesn't appear to have any visible effects on the program itself though.
     
  4. Shawzborne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Shawzborne

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #4
    It does affect the battery life of the Mac as well as performance
     
  5. MeUnix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    My Chrome helper is always "Not responding" as well. I usually fix it by ending the task in Activity Monitor and when it shows back up it is working fine.

    I haven't noticed it to drain my battery life or affect my overall system performance though.

    - Kyle
     
  6. tokanizar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #6
    I confirm that the problem still happens in the public release of Mavericks
     
  7. Sccrapdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #7
    I too just installed Mavericks a few hours ago and I now have a permanent:

    'Google Chrome helper not responding' warning permanently displayed in Activity Monitor.

    If I terminate that particular process it reappears with the same fault message in red. Nothing I can do to fix it.

    [​IMG]

    And the exact same issue with 'Pepper Flash Player'

    [​IMG]
     
  8. tongteh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #8
    LIkewise, would be great to hear someone who understand the situation!

    my screenshot and you can see that it's taking a lot of memory:
    [​IMG]
     
  9. onedsc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
  10. Solitonradar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #10
    I actually came across this problem today. I don't have a permanent fix for the Chrome Helper crashing yet, but you can end the process and it will return working fine. I'll post back once I figure out the exact issue.

    As for the PepperPlayer, it's Google's crappy attempt at a flash player, which has been causing this issue for a while now.

    The fix to that is easy:

    1. Open up Chrome and type in "Chrome://plugins" w/o the quotes. That'll bring up a plugins page.

    2. On the upper right corner, you'll see "Details". Click this and it will expand all the fields.

    3. Under Adobe Flash Player, you'll see both the Pepper player, and the Official flash player (if it is installed, if not; install it).

    4. Click "Disable" on the Pepper player and restart the browser.

    Done. You'll surely see a flash player performance gain and no more issues.
     
  11. Sccrapdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #11
    That does not work for me.. I terminate the non-responding process and it relaunches itself in the non-responding state. For 24 hours i have been playing this cat and mouse game with Chrome helper..

    [​IMG]



     
  12. tongteh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #12
    Thanks! Solved the Pepper player issue but +1 on the chrome helper still.
     
  13. scottelkin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #13
    +1 chrome helper not responding (thanks on pepper flash)
     
  14. ul1984 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    I haven't really noticed it having any side effects besides looking a bit weird in Activity Monitor. Chrome seems to work like it normally does.

    Anyway It seems they are working ot it at least: https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=304860

    Might take a while though... Double tap to smart zoom and pinch comes to mind :)
     
  15. Sccrapdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #15
    Pepper Flash sorted... thanks for the tip Solitonradar. :)
     
  16. Solitonradar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #16
    No problem guys. I've been looking into the Chrome Helper issue and still haven't found a culprit. It looks like it's a bug inside Chrome itself, so we'll see what I can find out.

    Back to crawling through logs.
     
  17. Unix4Mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #17
    It appears to be an issue with the sandboxing in OS X. Looking the system log I see this:

    Google Chrome Helper[10386]: Process unable to create connection because the sandbox denied the right to lookup com.apple.coreservices.launchservicesd and so this process cannot talk to launchservicesd. : LSXPCClient.cp #426 ___ZN26LSClientToServerConnection21setupServerConnectionEiPK14__CFDictionary_block_invoke() q=com.apple.main-thread

    And from the aforementioned Google support thread:

    "Renderers and helpers have different sandbox profiles, and renderers run the main thread with MessagePumpNSApplication."

    I don't notice any performance degradation, but it's certainly affecting battery life, or so I would presume since both processes are consuming CPU (Pepper Flash, in particular) and each are logging hours of CPU time, with Pepper Flash logging almost 60 hours of CPU, just shy of the time logged by the kernel_task process!
     
  18. Jim Chaffin macrumors newbie

    Jim Chaffin

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #18
  19. sgflaviu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    #19
    Thanks a million ;)
     
  20. bluepolo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #20
    When Chrome is fixed remember to switch back to Pepper
     
  21. JonLa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
  22. superdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #22
    I've actually disabled Pepper many months ago. It would hard lock my Mac Pro and only way to recover was to do a power cycle. After installing the actual Adobe plug-in, all has been fine. I'd actually recommend people not to use Pepper at all.
     
  23. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere

Share This Page