google chrome hogs my cpu

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by radiocity25, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. radiocity25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #1
    Hey all

    I wanted to have chrome run on my MBP but every time I install and use it, the CPU skyrockets and becomes very slow. Can anyone tell me why this is so?
     
  2. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  3. Kawininja619 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    How many tabs are you using? Each tab or window in chrome is its own process so... that may be your problem.
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    It may be because its still in Beta, so all the bugs have not be sorted.
     
  5. RqThrottle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I am on the Dev release, but try this:

    On Chrome's menu bar, go to "View/Developer/Task Manager"

    That should help you diagnose the issue.
     
  6. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #6
    It runs fine here, but when I get to 20 tabs or so, after a while it just starts to go to 100% CPU. A restart of Chrome fixes it most of the time.
     
  7. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #7
    thanks everyone for the replies. Strangely, I am just on one tab and the CPU still skyrockets. I uninstalled chrome since I was worried about it. But still want to give it a go again.
     
  8. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  9. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Beta software has bugs. When the final version is released hopefully it wont happen anymore. The CPU rocketing could be any number of reasons, many of which could be specific to your machine.
     
  10. 2Bad4U macrumors member

    2Bad4U

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Atlantic Canada
    #10
    It's probably because you are running flash. ;)
     
  11. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  12. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Are you viewing sites with Flash content? Browse the Extensions Library and search for a Flash Blocker. I use FlashBlock.
     
  13. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #13
    Dont go on the internet.
     
  14. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #14
    ok so I re-downloaded google chrome and it runs alright. but when i checked activity monitor I have 3 google chrome helper processes? Is that right? :confused:
     
  15. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #15
    I tried it and it was unusable for me. I normally have lots of tabs open in Firefox, and my bookmarks folder is huge. Browsing bookmarks was painfully slow in Chrome, and when I tried to open >50 tabs, it just sat there using 100% CPU and didn't load anything.

    Chrome makes extra processes for sandboxing tabs and plugins.
     
  16. WisdomWolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #16
    50 tabs? :eek: You're kidding, right?
     
  17. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #17
    even stranger. the more tabs i open the more google chrome helper processes pop up in activity monitor...huh?
     
  18. HerrWulf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    #18
    Chrome runs a separate process for each tab. It means that, if something breaks on one site, that the browser won't break, just that one tab.
     
  19. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #19
    I've gotten better. In the past I would often have over 100. I have so many tabs open because if I bookmark something I will loose it or forget about it.

    I have such a big bookmarks file because I would always bookmark all tabs to save my session before Firefox had session saving.
     
  20. radiocity25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #20
    ironic how chrome is supposed to be lighter. i did a test and chrome lags so much compared to safari. guess i'll just uninstall chrome til its out of beta or at least til it supports 10.6. thanks everyone.

    btw does anyone know if i can have customizable themes for safari?
     

Share This Page