Google Chrome vs. Safari

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by EthanXC1, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. EthanXC1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #1
    So I've tried both of these browsers and I like Chrome more in almost every aspect except one. Because of this aspect, I continue to use Safari. So maybe someone here can help me.

    I don't know if this is the official name of the feature but it seems logical to me. Autocomplete or autofill.

    Basically, when I am typing a URL in Safari, if the URL is in my bookmarks or history it will complete the rest of the address for me and all I have to do is hit enter. For example, I have facebook.com in my favorites. I type "fa" and safari fills in the rest, I just hit enter and I'm there.

    From what I can tell, Chrome does not support this feature on its Mac client. Please tell me I'm wrong about this! Does Chrome have this feature?
     
  2. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #3
    All you do is type a few letters then enter? If that is so, I don't know why it won't work for me!
     
  3. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    For example, if I type in mac, it shows MacRumors.com. Try deleting all the browser files (Chrome>Clear Browsing Data) and see if it will work.
     
  4. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #5
    You don't have to hit the down arrow or tab or something before hitting enter?
     
  5. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Nope.
     
  6. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #7
    Man, maybe someone knows what I gotta do so this will work for me. It's really bothering me that I can't figure this out.
     
  7. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Well, did you try what I said above?
     
  8. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
  9. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Try reinstalling Chrome.
     
  10. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #11
    I've already tried that, I'm thinking there must be some kind of option I'm overlooking. I've looked through preferences and haven't found anything though.
     
  11. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    That's because there aren't any preferences. Can you post a screenshot of what you do see?
     
  12. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
  13. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
  14. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
  15. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
  16. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

Share This Page