Google doubleclick ad window opens when I hit Dashboard button!?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by meagain, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #1
    :eek: First, ever since installing Lion - My iMac has been a nightmare in mostly every respect. Especially working in Safari.

    Also, Every time I hit the Dashboard button, I get an apple error popup. NOW, every time I hit it, not only do I get an error (as well as major delay with calculator input, etc).... I'm getting a popup with the URL of 'googleads.g.doubleclick.net'

    Safari is set to block popups.

    WTH can possibly be going on here? Any ideas would be much appreciated. I searched on this and don't see others with the same problem.
     
  2. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    Guessing you have a webclip in Dashboard?

    If so...this is not new to Lion. I was having it happen in SL.

    I have a webclip of a Weather Underground radar in my Dashboard. Everytime I view dashboard.....Chrome opens (it's my default browser) to at least 2 tabs of Google doubleclick ads.

    Since this happened in SL for me.....I'm guessing it's something Google changed that is forcing this.

    If you find an answer, post it back here.....I'll do the same.

    -Kevin
     
  3. meagain thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #3
    Wow! Thank you. Seems I had a teensy tiny oddity on my screen and it seems to be some type of Twitter widget. I nuked it and so far everything's fine. :eek:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!
     
  4. misterpip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #4
    This is also affecting me

    however, sometimes webclips don't load at all upon boot/wake

    didn't used to get the same googlead popups with dashboard on SnowLeopard

    anyway........
     
  5. meagain thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #5
    I didn't have ANY of my crazy problems with Snow Leopard :eek:

    I'm going to try to reinstall Lion and cross fingers.
     
  6. ageorgios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
  7. hawaiipoolman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #7
    same thing here, http://www.wunderground.com/ dashboard widget, same Google Double Click ad in chrome pop up.

    found a fix, delete old widget add it again
     

Share This Page