Google hates my MacBook?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ModestPenguin, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. ModestPenguin macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #1
    I have issues apparently. When my macbook is on Wifi on my home network, it refuses to go to Google.com, check gmail, or do anythign google related.

    I have no idea what is up. Its been like this for a while and I am tired of hoping it would just go away.

    Any ideas?


    Things of note:

    Linksys WRT-300N wifi router

    Google and gmail work on ethernet, not wifi

    Neighbors Wifi works fine and dandy with google and gmail

    iPhone works fine and dandy on home wifi with Gmail

    Office wifi works with macbook on google and gmail.

    getting moderately frustrated.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Have you tried opening network utility and trying to ping google?
     
  3. ModestPenguin thread starter macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #3
    here are the results from pinging google.

    what does this mean?
     
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    That means that you can connect to google fine. What exactly happens when you try to go to google?
     
  5. ModestPenguin thread starter macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #5
    Safari sits with the blue bar about 1/8th of the way loaded.

    forever.

    I've given it 2 hours now and the screen is white.


    Mail.app says
    But if I plug into ethernet all problems go poof.
     
  6. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #6
    This may be a stupid question, but does Firefox do the same thing?
     
  7. ModestPenguin thread starter macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #7
    indeed it does. As does Camino
     
  8. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #8
    Hmmm...that is odd. Have you tried resetting Safari? It's a long shot, but maybe it'll have a positive effect. I'm not holding out hope though; I'm actually stalling so I can think of something a bit better:p

    Edit: Have you tried going through another site? Go to yahoo and do a search for Google. Does it work? If not, does stopping and then refreshing help?
     
  9. ModestPenguin thread starter macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #9
    Resetting safari.... no help

    Google through yahoo.....no dice

    Stop+refresh....s**t out of luck

    this sucks.
     
  10. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #10
    Well, that was simple stuff anyways, and I doubted it was going to work. I really can't think as to why this is happening. It's got me puzzled:eek:
     
  11. ModestPenguin thread starter macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
  12. viskwal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #12
    I'm having the exact same problem with some websites.

    There is a small discussion at the apple forum about this :
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1113862

    some sites do not load at all when I'm on wireless. If I plug in the ethernet cable the problem is gone.

    This problem started after upgrading to 10.4.10, and I'm also having the other "known" 10.4.10 networking problems.
    I hope apple comes up with a fix real soon.
     
  13. ModestPenguin thread starter macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #13
    Hmmm...

    Okay. That makes me feel mildly better about this.
     
  14. iLEZ macrumors newbie

    iLEZ

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    Same here. A netgear wifi router. The wired PC works just fine (for once), but no google love for the Mac. Not through Firefox, Safari or nothing since the latest os x update. This is very crippling, and i hope to get it solved soon. Thanks for the help so far in this thread guys!
     
  15. iLEZ macrumors newbie

    iLEZ

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    Alright, seems like -Kryten- on the apple discussion board solved the problem for me, i quote. AHEM:

    It very much sounds like a DNS (Domain Name Server) issue. Try the following:

    1. Fire up System Preferences
    2. Select Network
    3. Select your connection method (Built-in Ethernet or Airport) and click on the "Configure..." button in the bottom
    4. Ensure the TCP/IP tab is selected
    5. In the DNS Servers field type:

    208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220

    When you type in the first DNS address press Return and then you'll be able to type the second DNS address in the same field but directly under the first one.

    6. Click on the "Apply Now" button.
    7. Restart the Mac.

    INSTANT success. =)
    A curious notice is that i had not typed in any DNS servers before, how about others with the same problems? Had you manually configured your DNS addresses?
     
  16. viskwal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #16
    I wish it were true. Adding dns servers manually does not change anything for me.
     
  17. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #17
    Just a pointer, it's usually a bad idea to put in someone elses DNS server into your config, that DNS server could be anywhere, and as it does all the address resolving it can really badly mess with your internet connection, however the DNS entries he's given you are for openDNS (http://www.opendns.com/) so those are good ones to use as they are set up to be used worldwide and in most cases improve internet speeds :)
     

Share This Page