Google Maps and Traffic re-routing

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by BrianBaughn, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #1
    Does anyone know if the Google Maps app re-routes you in mid-journey if traffic conditions create a faster alternate route?
     
  2. saintforlife macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #2
    I want to know this as well. Btw, does Apple Maps does this?
     
  3. lordhamster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #3
    I'd love to know the answer as well. Any trip far enough to warrant checking traffic conditions at the outset surely warrants traffic updates and rerouting.
     
  4. LERsince1991 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Interested too.

    Been using tomtom app with ha traffic which has just saved me 2 hours in 2 days :)
     
  5. BrianBaughn thread starter macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    I took a long trip last week that had a few optional route legs. After a stop, which had forced a recalculation of the route, I noticed that the route had changed on Google Maps due to traffic around DC beltway. I don't know if the recalc would have happened if we hadn't veered off the route for a few minutes.
     

Share This Page