Google Maps not working in Safari 3

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tibi08, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. tibi08 macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #1
    I am having real problems with Safari and Google maps. Firefox loads Google Maps fine, but Safari will not work in certain zoom modes (particularly when viewing the whole of the UK). See image below for explanation.

    I have deleted all the library files, cleared the Safari cache and cookies, to no avail.

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    Looks like a problem with your internet rather than Safari (you can clearly see the page hasn't finished loading). Curious that it works in Firefox though. No problems here with Safari 3.
     
  3. tibi08 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #3
    I doubt it is the internet, as Exeter is shown in the middle of the sea!
     
  4. tibi08 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #4
    I have now resolved this problem. Apparently it is not uncommon for Google maps to cause a "SYN Flood to Host" error with your Router which results in your router denying you access to certain Google Maps image servers.

    This can be solved by changing the firewall settings on your router.
     
  5. eight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #5
    Hello everyone...

    How exactly did you fix this problem? I just found it today. 1/17/08

    It used to work just fine. I restarted the router, and now i can't see the maps. ONLY in Safari?! It works on everything else.

    I'm at a lost...
     
  6. tibi08 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #6
    Log onto your router and change the firewall settings from say "high" to "medium". Depends what router you've got though. And also depends if you've got the same problem!!
     
  7. eight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #7
    It's a weird problem I noticed it after yesterday's OS update.
    If you goto the page directly with the google map on it it doesnt load. But if your on another page then navigate to that google maps page within the same site, it works...

    weird.

    I don't have 'medium' or 'high' settings on my router but i'll have a look.
     
  8. hk8899 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #8
    I still use Safari 3 and I have no problems with google maps. It is weird though!!!! :confused:
     
  9. kbou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #9
    Same Maps Issue on Safari

    I have the same issue on Safari, and actually on firefox. It's not the internet connection, a PC has no issue loading, I've seen that quite a few people have this problem with maps and Safari. I think it has to do with the fact that Safari sucks.
     
  10. BuddyMac macrumors member

    BuddyMac

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #10
    Hi,
    I am also facing the same problem.... Pls help me how to resolve it... how do I login to router and change firewall settings.
     
  11. Anu Krishna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #11
    Map is printing badly in safari

    Map is printing very badly. Shade is comming upon the map. Iam using safari3.
     
  12. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
  13. Anu Krishna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #13
    Hi ,

    My safari version is 3.1.2.

    In my rails application, i am printing the google map by using "window.print" . Its coming fine in other browsers. But safari printing the map(After clicking on print) with a shade over on it.

    I have no idea to resolve it.

    Please help.

    Thanks,
    Anu...
     

    Attached Files:

  14. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Oh, for Pete's sake. Run Software Update to update your Apple OS-related software.
     
  15. Anu Krishna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #15
    Hi ..

    I found the solution for this.
    There are so many JS files including in my page. From one of the javascript "lightwindow.js" which applying 0.7 opacity to the lightwindow overlay div.

    So i have changed the 0.7 to 0.0. Problem solved.

    Now the map is printing fine.

    Thanks for the response..

    AnuKrishna :cool: :cool: :cool:
     

Share This Page