Google offers "opt out" of Analytics

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by miles01110, May 25, 2010.

  1. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #1
    Looks like Google is at least going through the motions of being an "industry leader" (hah hah) in the privacy arena, or at least making their efforts visible (to people that actually care enough) to distance themselves from facebook. Doesn't mean you can take off your tin hat, but it's a step in the right direction.

    http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/20...+wired/index+(Wired:+Index+3+(Top+Stories+2))

    Here's the direct link to the plugin:

    http://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout
     
  2. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #2
    Nice that they don't support Safari. Will this change if Apple comes out with official extension support, or will Google try to ignore Safari even then? If Apple provides official extension support and Google still doesn't add Safari to the list, I'm sure some lawyer will start a class action lawsuit and make a ton of money.
     
  3. miles01110 thread starter macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Err...no. Google's not under any obligation to produce plugins, nor are they under any obligation to offer opting out.
     
  4. steve2112 macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #4
    I've been opting out for a while now. I use NoScript for Firefox. Google Analytics is blocked in it.
     
  5. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #5
    Well they've made it for three browsers already, I'm sure they'll cater for Safari once they can do so.
     
  6. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #6
    Why use a plugin? just add this to your hosts file:
    Code:
    0.0.0.0 www.google-analytics.com google-analytics.com
     

Share This Page