Google problems

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fathergj, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. fathergj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #1
    In the past two days, I have been unable to load www.google.com or my iGoogle page on either browser (Safari, Firefox). I was wondering what may be causing this and how to fix it.

    I am able to access my gmail account, but nothing else from Google, even if it is googleanalytics.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    you should check you didn't block it by mistake
     
  3. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #3
    I checked that several times, and it does not seem to be the case.
     
  4. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #4
    open up the terminal and trying to ping google and see if it able to ping it
     
  5. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #5
    Try clearing your caches in both Safari and Firefox.
     
  6. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #6
    Sorry, I don't know how to do that. Could you walk me through?
     
  7. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
  8. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
  9. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
  10. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
  11. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #11
    I'm not sure what that means for the computer? I know that google is up and running, but for some reason I can not access it.
     
  12. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    It would tell you if the computer can connect to the google server. If you can ping google it would tell you that it is a browser issue. If you cannot then you have some form of a firewall blocking the connection
     
  13. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #13
    Well, when I ping, it says that 0 packets were received, which I presume means that my computer is not able to connect with it. So, how would I find if there is a firewall blocking it?
     
  14. fathergj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #14
    Discoverd a solution

    Well, it appears that the problem is with ISPs or something from Comcast. I restarted my modem and it worked...so I'm not sure what that means, but that's it.
     

Share This Page