Google Voice Mobile Web Site Crippled

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Frege, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. Frege macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #1
    Not only have Apple nixed the GV app, but Apple/AT&T have apparently also crippled the GV Mobile Web Site. I have this on my iPhone set to call my landline. But when I call a number on my iPhone using the GV mobile web it rings to my iPhone and not to my landline. (Works properly though when GV is accessed through my computer.)

    So GV is now useless for making outgoing calls from an iPhone.
     
  2. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #2
    This will only burn the fire even higher if this is true and not a bug. Changing the true purpose of web sites goes against the net neutrality and will definitely punish ATT and Apple.
     
  3. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #3
    Proof?

    Apple and AT&T don't have the authority to cripple any site but their own.

    Sounds more like Google crippled it or user error. ;)
     
  4. yamaduc macrumors member

    yamaduc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal (Residing in SoCal)
  5. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #5
    "You're using their network, that's their authority" is going to the their reason for doing this.
     
  6. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #6
    What the hell are you talking about? Are you saying you have the website set up that when you dial a number from the website it is supposed to make your home phone ring as well as the number you are trying to dial? That the stupidest thing I've ever heard - especially if you are trying it from a cell phone. When you would have to pick up your landline anyways, why are you dialing from a website?
     
  7. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7

    So...Apple hacked into the google servers and changed their software code?

    That's your theory?
     
  8. Frege thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #8
    First of all, using GV in the way I describe is perfectly sensible. Suppose I just have my iPhone and an available landline. I use GV on the iPhone (Wi-fi or 3G) to ring to the landline. Since it is an in-coming call on the landline, which I now use for the call, I do not use minutes on my mobile, nor pay for landline usage.

    As for why it is ringing to my iPhone and not the landline, I have not the foggiest idea. I was just describing what happens. This started at the time that if became known that Apple had rejected the GV app - it worked properly prior to that - and I have had the problem with 2 different landlines.

    What would be helpful is if someone who has GV could see if they are also having the same experience. If not, then I will see what the problem is with my set-up, but if they do, then the problem is somewhere in the nexus of Apple, At&T and Google.
     
  9. B-Ri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #9
    i just logged on into voice with safari and it works fine.
     
  10. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    So you decided to pick the strangest solution?

    I can not even imagine how Apple or AT&T would have anything to do with this problem.

    You entered information into a google website which got sent to google server which executed some google software.

    AT&T or Apple have the ability to block any of that from happening, yes. But we know that didn't happen since a call did occur. You're suggesting they somehow changed the outcome of the google software running on the google server.

    I find that to be amazingly unlikely.
     
  11. Frege thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #11
    From your iPhone, not your computer, right? I have no problem from my computer.
     
  12. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #12
    BS... They cannot alter Google's site.
    The best AT&T could do as your ISP is block access to it.
    Apple can't alter anyone's website. That's called hacking and it is illegal.
     
  13. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #13
    I said changing the purpose of the site, not the actual site. AT&T could easily tell Google that unless it changes the way it works on mobile devices, they'll block it on the AT&T cell network.

    Remember people, net neutrality is not a law or a right. Any ISP can block sites for whatever purpose they want. Remember the DNS hijackings done by Comcast? Cablevision is now doing the same thing.

    Now this all could be totally wrong and it is a simple bug in GV Mobile or user error.
     
  14. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #14
    Why would AT&T tell google that they'll allow google-voice's bandwidth on the AT&T network, just so long as it calls wrong numbers.

    And google would say "Yeah, ok! We'd prefer that people get mad at us for a broken product instead of getting mad at AT&T. Sure, we'll change it and take the heat just to protect you."

    Does ANY part of this story make sense? Isn't it far more likely that, as a beta product with a limited release, google voice still has a few bugs in it?
     
  15. Frege thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #15
    Just to double-check, I went to the GV mobile page via my computer's web-browser and made a call from there. Everything worked as it should, ringing my landline. Then tried it from my iPhone with no success - it still rings the iPhone and not the landline.
     
  16. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #16
    I already said it could be just a simple bug in GV mobile.

    For the same reason they don't want GV app on iPhone, they don't want it on their network as web app as well.
     
  17. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #17
    I just tested it on my phone and it works fine for me. I don't have a landline set up but it does give you an option after you hit "call" of which phone to ring to connect you to GV before making the call to the number you're dialing.

    Sounds like you encountered a bug or just missed something.
     
  18. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #18
    Sure, so they could block it.

    They wouldn't make it so the call goes through, just to a wrong number. It would still be using their bandwidth.
     
  19. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #19
    wow

    this belongs on a conspiracy web site! last reports Google was worth over 147 billion dollars today in this rotten economy the stock is worth $448.80 up +$3.16‎ I think they can hold there own against both Apple and At&T now go find out who the shooter was in the grassy knoll!
     
  20. mnkop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    #20


    When you are using the mobile site, you have to configure which number you want it to ring when you are placing a call. This is under settings "My Mobile Number"

    On the full site, you can choose at the time of placing the call which number you want it to ring.

    Before you complain about how some thing is useless, make sure you understand how to use it.
     
  21. unshuffled macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #21
    Crippled GV Website

    Interesting all the theories here. Something did change and I'm not sure where but here's what made mine work and what stops it:

    From my iphone browser I could make calls out and with JB GV Mobile I could dial and play. Suddenly this all stopped working.

    My setup in Google voice was to call my work line (only one listed there) but it automatically would work from my phone even though that wasn't a listed line.

    Now I added my cell phone (iphone) into the list of phones to forward to and unchecked forward to this phone. Then I went to dial and checked use my cell as the dial back and all everything works again.

    If you only had a cell phone you never would have noticed this.

    If you had a land line listed, suddenly calls would not go through.

    Anyone else see this?
     
  22. saadat macrumors member

    saadat

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #22
    Can anybody please send me an invite for google voice... i really need it... Help would be much appreciated..

    regards
    Saadat
     
  23. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #23
    Only Google can give out invites at this time.
     
  24. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    Yea, I thought this was a feature... Not a bug. :p
     
  25. cmwade77 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #25
    Actually they are only allowed to block illegal activities and even then only under certain circumstances, they cannot restrict the web.

    If they try to do DNS highjackings, there is is an easy way around it, simply use OpenDNS or a similar service.
     

Share This Page