google voice sms notification

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ghcmonkey, Jul 28, 2009.

1. ghcmonkey macrumors newbie

Is there any way to get notified when you get a google voice sms on the iphone? Is there any cydia or legitimate app that pushes the messages?
    edit: I believe the new gv mobile app on cydia does this? I'm not sure though. i don't think it lets you push gv sms

2. /seth/ macrumors newbie

python script for google voice notification

I've written a python script that can send you notification by either instant message or email when you receive an sms. It uses the Google Voice for Python package found here: http://code.google.com/p/pygooglevoice/ . Assuming you have all of the dependencies installed, just change the extension of the attached file to .py, run it from the command line, enter your account info, and let it go.

I'm a total beginner with python and scripting, so let me know if there are any questions or suggestions.

The body of the script can also be found at: http://twrl.tumblr.com/post/156706491/gvnotifier

Attached Files:

3. duffer macrumors regular

Not working for me

I have been trying to get this to work all day. So far, no love. I have all dependencies installed. I enter my info in when prompted, but don't receive any notifications.

Any ideas? I have tried your script and several others, and have yet to get any of them to work.

4. leomac08 macrumors 68020

leomac08

uh, don't be harsh to me, what is google voice?:confused:

5. Nanook macrumors regular

Nanook

Oh the irony... ;)

It's the first google result. :eek:

6. haninaguib macrumors newbie

Hi guys,