Got a current MP and getting a new one?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Michael73, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. Michael73 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    #1
    What are you doing with your current machine once you get the new one?

    Selling it (and maybe using the money to offset the cost of the new one)?

    Or, keeping it and:
    • Creating a file server.
    • Creating your own render farm.
    • Using it as a media server.
    • Giving it to a family member or friend.
    • If none of the above, what are you doing with it?
     
  2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #2
    The new Mac Pro is kind of a joke for the recording industry, I'm not going to run my 20 thousand dollar studio through a 2 dollar thunderbolt adapter. For video and 3d its powerful, but I have no plans to upgrade when the new cpu after all these years is about 10 percent faster than mine.
     
  3. drnen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #3
    I have an old octo 2.26 nehalem 12 gigs ram.. I'm a graphic designer and also do some 2d rendering with the Cintiq so I'm mainly a creature of photoshop. some of my larger files are now starting to get sluggish on my rig so I need to start taking a hard look at getting something new. The upgradeability of the 2013 version scares me.. but I'm going to see what the reviewers say. I dont really want to have to switch over to windows.. like, really, really dont wanna.
    If I do decide to upgrade I'll try and find somewhere to sell my 2.26.
     
  4. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #4
    I doubt my 1,1 is worth any $.. would like to swap it for a tbolt display but I don't see that happening.
    probably just hang on to it til I come across someone in need of a computer then give it to them.
     
  5. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #5
    [*] Upgrading my CPUs and laughing at the inferior speed of the new Mac Pro.

    -SC
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Adobe hates that Mac Pro. You can get way faster results even with current 2010-2012's. Just FYI. The new Mac Pro will feel way faster than your Octo at Adobe apps. Meaning when people are complaining you get a pass, you NEED to upgrade.
     
  7. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #7
    For me, it's about time, depending on how much of my surplus cash is going to get eaten by either car/house purchases in the next 4 months.. If there is any left, I'll grab the new MP, if not, well my current one still handles anything I throw at it just fine and dandy.
     
  8. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #8
    This^^

    We just bought a 5.1 Hex with 32GB RAM from Scrumpymacs. I'm not convinced about either the design, or the QC on the new one, and since none of these things will be known factors until after the release, we decided top buy one that is tried and tested, that we can easily upgrade etc. I'm not knocking the new design, but let's be honest, it's not exactly user friendly when you want a new graphics board etc. The old design was that way for exactly that reason...we have a 1GB 5770 in the 5.1 and that will be the first upgrade.

    Open the case, seat the newbie, job done.


    I'll certainly watch the tear downs of the new ones with interest..but I don't think it will be that easy, it's a modular " you buy at time of purchase" type of design.
     
  9. N19h7m4r3, Sep 13, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013

    N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #9

    I came here just to really say that as well. Glad your system has already arrived.
    I went for 24GB of ram to keep the RAM in Triple Channel.
    I've already gotten my new GPU, and Blu-ray drive to put in as well.

    Will be using it for video editing, it's still an amazing system and plenty faster than my old macbook and windows systems.
     
  10. d-m-a-x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
  11. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #11
    What GPU did you go for?
     
  12. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #12
    I asked for a GT120 with the system, and 2 PCIe Power cables. I'll replace that with a EVGA GTX 660 3GB Superclocked + I have from my old M-ITX windows system. :)
     
  13. flat five, Sep 13, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013

    flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #13
  14. greenmeanie macrumors 6502a

    greenmeanie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Location:
    AmigaWarez
    #14
    I am not getting anything until I hear about the price.
     
  15. snarfquest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #15
    My 2008 3,1 became the home server (time machine/media server/dhcp/dns/web/boot server)

    I bought a new 5,1 hex, dropped 32gb, an ATI 7970 3gb video card, SSD and some fast SAS 10k drives in it.

    The new MP holds little interest for me as the speed bump would be minor and the cable catastrophe would be major with all the crap I would have to have externally plugged in to the TB. Not to mention the added cost of buying said TB peripherals.

    I'll wait for Trashcan 2.0 or maybe 3.0 before considering upgrading. Perhaps by 3.0 we'll have enough crammed into the little sphere to replace what can only be external now via TB.
     
  16. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #16
    what crap? just curious
     
  17. SeattleMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Der Wald
    #17
    Thumbs up if you think those that want it will buy it and those who don't...won't. ;)
     
  18. snarfquest, Sep 13, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013

    snarfquest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #18
    Currently several SAS 10k drives, Blu-ray burner would end up external.

    So.... I guess the "Crap" would be an external PCIe case for the SAS card, and another case for the drives. And another case or a new Blu-ray drive. Plus no place to put it all on my desk.. oh joy!
     

Share This Page