Got a free Mac Mini, what's the max I can bump the memory to?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by OceanView, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. OceanView macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #1
    I think this mini is about 1 or 2 years old.
    The specs on the unit sez 1.42G 512MB 80GB.
    I think it's a Power PC G4.

    What can I do to upgrade this mini to maximize it for use?
    Is it even worth it to use it?
     
  2. A.list.face macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #2
    1 gig

    Yes. Great for minor stuff like internet, mail, iLife (etc.) I bought the same one for my wife three years ago, sold it two years ago. The guy that bought it off me has installed Leopard and gave it to his daughter who loves it.
     
  3. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #3
    Its a good machine. Powerful enough to play halo at 640x480 with decent graphic settings.

    1GB is the physical maximum it can take.

    It can be bumped up to 1.5ghz by simply removing a resistor off the logicboard.
     
  4. OceanView thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #4
    Any chance I can install Snow Leopard?
    I don't think they are selling Leopard anymore.
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    Snow Leopard is intel only, you can still get Leopard over the phone.
     
  6. cfitz7111 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #6
    Leopard may bog this machine down. I would stick with Tiger for this mini
     
  7. Mike Macintosh macrumors regular

    Mike Macintosh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #7
    My dad has a mini with these same specs and Leopard runs fine, so just go ahead and install it.

    Snow Leopard though is Intel only and will not work on a PowerPC processor.
     
  8. OceanView thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #8
    I contacted Apple by phone and they don't sell Leopard anymore :(
    I wonder if my restore CD from my aMBP would work?
    I doubt it.
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    No.
     
  10. SpeedFleX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    Interwebz
  11. pukifloyd macrumors 6502a

    pukifloyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    #11

    No it won't work. Just run it with tiger and you'll be fine:)
     

Share This Page