Got a free MacBook Pro need advice please

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alinux, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. alinux macrumors member

    alinux

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #1
    hello
    i got free macbook pro i think its 2010 or 2011 from what i see it has 8 gb ram
    when i tried to start it it wont boot or power on.
    so i tried removing back plate and disconnect the battery and starting to hold power for 10 secs after that plug the power,and keep holding for another 10 secs, then i can power it on.
    it works,but.. when i power it on there is no chime,fans run at full speed,i get white screen for 10/20 seconds and then apple logo shows and starts loading. also i noticed hdd is defective (clong sounds).
    if i try to reset SMC with shift+control+option+power it wont power back on,ill have to try again with the 10 seconds power thing.
    can i fix it ?
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
  3. alinux thread starter macrumors member

    alinux

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #3
    Hdd is not important. If I unplug the battery and use the power holding trick it powers on. If I power off from the button. It will work next time. If I unplug the power cable.. I have to do the power holding trick again. It's a motherboard fault?
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #4
    You didn't say above, but...

    IF it's a 2011 model, and...
    ...IF the screen size is 15" or 17"....

    ... there's a FREE motherboard replacement program from Apple (I -think- this recall program is still in effect).

    Does your MacBook Pro match the "ifs" above?
     
  5. alinux thread starter macrumors member

    alinux

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #5
    i dont know
    how can i see the specs ? i can boot from snow leopard disk
    the serial number is mostly erased,impossible to read
    the case is not in good condition
     
  6. jerryk, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016

    jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #6
    Doesn't it also have to have a dGPU? Or do they all have a dGPU?
     
  7. tubeexperience macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #7
    The serial number is on the logic board.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page