got a kernal panic on boot

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by youpey, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. youpey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #1
    i got the 3 language kernal panic on boot today. the one that tells you to hold down the power button. i rebooted and it booted fine. i booted again and it was fine. i then ran permissions test, there were a few things, which it fixed.

    i ran disk check, and that ran ok

    i ran the hardware test (pressing d on boot) and the fast check was ok, i am in the process of doing the extended test now.

    i checked the kernel panic log, and it points to my Cisco VPN software. i am running all these tests just to feel better.

    i called apple, they said if it only happens once it is probably a fluke, but he said if it happens again to call back


    is there anything else i should check or do you think i covered everything.

    i am still new to macs, but i work in PC IT, i want to make sure i am covering everything. i want to be as complete as i would be with a pc

    specs in signature
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    That's going a bit overboard for just one kernel panic. :confused:
     
  3. youpey thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #3
    probably. i am just trying to be complete and trying to learn more about the mac.

    the full hardware test checked out ok
     
  4. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #4
    Maybe I haven't experienced it yet myself, but I don't think Kernel Panic's happen by "fluke", generally there IS something wrong. Maybe yours did happen by fluke but I would be aware of what I was running just be sure.
     
  5. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    [ Steve Balmer voice]

    Duplicate,duplicate,duplicate!!

    [/Steve Balmer voice]


    I wouldn't worry too much. Most real bugs are duplicated many times. If that happens then contact the "genius".
     

Share This Page