Got a new Passport

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by cramazing, Mar 25, 2013.

1. cramazing macrumors 6502

Im new to Mac and new to Time Machine and backups.

So I got a new 1TB External WD Passport for my RMBP that has 256GB.

What I want to do is format the drive with 2 Partitions, 1 for TM backup and 1 for file storage.

My question is this, do I partition the drive to be 50/50?

Or do I only set aside 256GB for Time Machine???

thanks for the help:apple:

2. simsaladimbamba

That is up to you, but you can use just one volume/partition for Time Machine and data storage.

Time Machine FAQ

3. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

sjinsjca

Your TM partition should be at least 2X the size of the disk(s) being backed up.

If the 256GB disk is the only disk that will be backed up, then the minimum TM partition should be 512GB.

----------

True enough, but TM will fill up the disk pretty quickly. Partitioning it as the OP suggests will ensure there's some space for whatever else he wants to do.

4. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

any reason why it should be double?

thats why i was to set a partition, because i hear TM will just keep doing backups and not delete any older files until your disk is full and it starts to delete old backups to make room for new ones, I dont need 1TB of backups

5. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

well i went ahead and took your advice. 512GB it is.

I dont have too many files for now so 488GB is plenty

6. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

sjinsjca

I don't really know, but it seems like it's a common directive for incremental backup systems like Time Machine.

7. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member