Got a Nikon DB-600 Speedlight flash unit...(and love it!) now what about diffusion?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by BJB Productions, Jan 9, 2011.

1. BJB Productions, Jan 9, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011

BJB Productions macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Hey everyone,
    I just got the following unit for my Nikon D90.

Only used it once, so I've barely scratched the surface of what it can do, but I already love it. My one question is..now that I have it, do you think/recommend that I should get something like this to go along with it?

I'm not a pro, so I'm very new to flash units/etc in general. In case you don't know, I'm a amateur photographer for senior photos. (Mostly do outdoor shooting.) But for other things which may be inside, would this be good/necessary to have on hand?

Thanks!

2. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

Cliff3

If you're setting up a mini studio to do senior photos, you'd be better off with a shoot-through umbrella, a light stand, and an umbrella holder. When it comes to softening light, bigger is better, and an umbrella is the biggest bang for the buck. You are also better off using off-camera flash. Your D90 has a commander mode so you can use it to trigger the SB-600 remotely.

I have a (ridiculously overpriced) diffuser from Gary Fong that works pretty well. My SB-800's came with little diffusers like the one you linked to, but they don't do much.

3. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Yeah- that makes sense. I'm not going to be setting up a studio of any kind soon and since I'm just by myself, umbrellas aren't really a great choice for me. I would be using it for outdoor shoots when I need flash, but I need to aim it directly at the subject since there would be nothing to bounce it off of.

I never knew my D90 had a commander! I'm going to try that right now.

4. compuwar macrumors 601

compuwar