Got a slight CSS issue in IE...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by MasterDev, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. MasterDev macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #1
    Having an issue here, but only in IE. Currently, I have a few IE hacks in place to make everything display properly, but now, I have one issue that I just can't seem to place my finger on.

    IE - Below
    Picture 1.png

    FireFox - Below
    Picture 2.png

    The issue is the broken div...

    I've tried a lot of things, and it's most likely something small.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Have a link? Hard to figure out what's up with the CSS if we can't see it.
     
  3. MasterDev thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #3
    My bad! I thought I had posted it!

    Card-shuffler.com

    also, there is ie-styles.css and styles.css
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    For some reason when I try to access the site with IE8 I get a error 404 page. No problem with Firefox though. I'll try again later.
     
  5. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #5
    I got in with MSIE 7 and saw the problem.

    Your CSS is rather complex, but I noticed the content area below "Shuffler Categories" does not define a static width like the table found in the content area below "Featured Products". You added a UL set with class named "menu" for the rollover card stuff, but its so wide the other content area with the table in it (set to 650px wide) might be aligning it incorrectly in MSIE.

    I guess.

    So maybe try this:

    Before:

    HTML:
    .menu {
    	margin: 0;
    	padding: 0;
    	list-style: none;
    	background: #fff;
    }
    Change to:

    HTML:
    .menu {
            width: 650px;
            clear: right;
            margin: 0;
    	padding: 0;
    	list-style: none;
    	background: #fff;
    }
    Or something to that affect in that portion of your code/CSS, I think. Start looking at things like this if this doesn't help.

    -jim
     
  6. MasterDev thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #6
    @SrWebDeveloper - You are amazing! I can't believe I missed something like that. Nor did I even think of it.

    Thanks again!!! :D
     
  7. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #7
    But was I right, did it work and solve the problem? I'm not so amazing if your page still looks the same in MSIE! heh
     
  8. MasterDev thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #8
    Well that solved one of the major issues, so thank you! I'm currently working on 10+ sites at once right now. This is the only site that is giving me issues at all.

    EDIT: Fixed.
     

Share This Page