got an iPad as a gift and need HELP!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by lynziwow, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. lynziwow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #1
    so all of my wishes came true and I got an iPad for my birthday. Now i'm totally bumming because apparently I need OS 10.5.8 to even use the thing.

    I currently have a G5 iMac (the final power pc before the intel changeover) running 10.4.11 and did a google search and can't find where I can download an update for this.

    What can I do?

    I really don't want to return my iPad. My iMac works fine and I don't think I need a new desktop just to get my iPad up and running.

    Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    There is no free update to Mac OS X 10.5.x. You either need to buy Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard (the RETAIL version, no RESTORE version) or find a Windows PC with the requirements and use that.
     
  3. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #3
    Can you suggest a retailer for leopard? It seems like everyone is focused on snow leopard now. And what is a fair price to pay for it?
     
  4. pier macrumors 6502

    pier

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #4
    You could just activate the ipad on some friend's computer... and use it independently from there. Not the best option (can't backup apps or update ipad) but it works.

    Maybe you could try to install parallels or fusion to run win xp on your computer and maybe install the latest itunes there...
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    eBay, but make sure it is the RETAIL version, no restore DVDs (grey). It may go from 50 to 120 and more USD.

    Not possible on a PPC Mac. VirtualPC would be an option, but better spend money for Leopard than for this slow piece of crap of software.
     
  6. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #6
    Thanks for the advice. One last question:

    If I connect to a friend's computer just to get it up and running will it be a problem if I eventually install leopard on my own machine and want to sync my iPad to it from that point on?
     
  7. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    It shouldn't be. It'll need to sync to your new library though which will remove any music, videos, apps, etc., added elsewhere.
     
  8. Ciclismo macrumors 6502a

    Ciclismo

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Shouldn't be an issue as the iPad is tied not to a computer but to an iTunes account (so you need to use your iTunes account to activate the iPad, not your mates).
     
  9. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #9
    You can even have the Apple Store "start" it for you. They'll connect it to one of their computers and you'll be good to go.
     
  10. thunderbunny macrumors 6502a

    thunderbunny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #10
    If you want to activate using a friends computer you can load up iTunes in an activation only mode - search the apple support for how to do this. Then your iPad won't be linked to their iTunes account
     
  11. gatearray macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #11
    I think Apple still sells Leopard directly if you call 800-MY-APPLE for $125 brand new. Better than paying some of the crazy prices on eBay, etc....
     
  12. ssdeg7 macrumors 6502a

    ssdeg7

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #12
    Agree!
     
  13. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
    Even with an activated iPad you need Leopard with your iTunes.
     
  14. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Surely you have a genuine copy of windows somewhere? Use it on boot camp and just run the iPad on there. Probably the cheaper option.
     
  15. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #15
    No bootcamp on the G5

    Cheers,
     
  16. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #16
    Update:

    Went to the Apple store and got my iPad up and running so I'm sending this to ya'll from my magical device :)

    I suppose I will need to bite the bullet and purchase Leopard for the sole purpose of synching/backing up my iPad. I also have a 3GS so it would be nice to have all my apps on the new pad as well.

    The best deal I've found so far for Leopard is $129 (the original retail price) through a 3rd Party here in San Francisco. Unfortunately, Apple no longer sells it themselves.

    Is this a fair price for somewhat obsolete software? Just seems like a lot of money to me for a somewhat simple task, especially when Tiger would work just fine for me except in this one instance.

    Any kind MR members out there willing to sell me their old Leopard install discs because you're running snow leopard now anyways? I'm just somewhat cautious about buying them off craigslist due to possible fraudulent authenticity. Prices on craigslist are still around $90 too according to my searches.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  17. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #17
    Maybe you can find an Upgrade DVD on eBay, they cost around 10€ (it did for me). They work for every Mac I suppose, it did at least for my iMac and didn't seem model specific, one only needed a Tiger installation.
     
  18. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #18
    I have full leopard disks somewhere but I have no idea where. I think they are the full retail universal disks. I will try to scour the warehouse this evening for you.

    Cheers,
     
  19. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
  20. tico24 macrumors 6502

    tico24

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Eastleigh, UK
    #20
    You can re-download already-purchased apps for free on your ipad
     
  21. Elyquin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Savannah
    #21
    call apple customer service

    You can still get the retail version from Apple directly. You don't have to buy from 3rd party or online.

    Call Apple and tell them you got an iPad and it needs Leopard. If the person is clueless, askt to talk with a different customer support person.

    I have the G4 iMac, and I bought Leopard from Apple directly.
     

Share This Page