Got Express. Wondering if should've got Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by stevemacn2008, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. stevemacn2008 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #1
    I need to be able to plug in an ojo internet video phone into my existing system. Problem is there's not an ethernet wired out connection on the airport express. Can i buy a router and hook it directly to my cable modem, then hook my airport express into that wired router or will that cause issues for my airport express?

    Steve
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    That would work fine.
     
  3. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #3
    Yup, I used to run a system just like that, two computers on the wired router and then the laptops on the wireless.
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    Make sure you run the Express in Bridge Mode. This will make the Express act as a wireless access point and all devices, wired or wireless, will be able to communicate with one another.
     
  5. stevemacn2008 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #5
    thanks for the replies.. So does anyone have a suggestion for a good yet inexpensive router?
     

Share This Page