Got Imac G4! Upgrade Advice/help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Eric Lewis, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #1
    Cost me 550 cnd (50 more for airport card next week)



    I installed Tiger with iWork 08 and iLife 08 and its working well

    Now...i was thinking dvd playback with tiger would work better and iphoto with 1gig of ram

    it has 512mb user accessible and 256mb not? how would i get 1gig?

    buy a 1gig and put it in the 512mb? or no?

    i havent installed MS offce 2004...but im assuming it work work well?

    so what else can make it as fast as possible?

    what airport card do i need?
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Here's a helpful thread from 2005.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=123698

    The situation is similar now. Its impossible to find 1GB sticks for the early iMac G4s. I wasn't able to find any after a quick search, but there is hope for you to install a second 512mb stick in the tech-only slot (not for the faint of heart).
     
  3. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #3
    Jesus christ why did you pay so much? I bought a C2D 17" 2.0 last night for $650
     
  4. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #4
    its canadian funds
     
  5. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    The CAD is currently worth $1.01 USD. Woohoo. We still pay more for stuff though, so that should account for some of the inflated price.

    Although, my local shop offered a newer machine with a faster processor (and wifi+bt) for only $600. You could have done even better on eBay.

    The iMac G4 is one of the coolest computers ever made though, definitely worth a few extra dollars.
     
  6. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #6
    I wanted the G4

    plus it was like perfect condtion...no dead/stuck pixels...very clean...speakers worked....

    gave me 10.3 disks and 10.4 retail disks!

    it was a great deal

    and i have 30 days to return if i like

    there is no other faster one? its the fastest and i got a extreme card from my older eMac
     
  7. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    No need to justify your purchase :D. I think you spent wisely.

    I thought you had a 700Mhz model. I must have confused it with another support thread.
     
  8. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #8
    so what adaptor do i need to hook it up via VGA to my 42'' LCD with VGA?
     
  9. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    You'll need this. IIRC the iMac G4s are only capable of screen mirroring and not screen spanning. That means you 'll only be able to use one monitor at a time or mirror the image on both.
     
  10. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #10
    thats perfect...i just need to hook it up to a TV to show DVD movies etc


    and VGA will be best quality

    any way to shut off the iMacs display and just use the TV?
     
  11. mini/mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    I used to have the same computer.
    I hated it cuz it was slow due to low RAM.
     
  12. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #12
    what model? cpu? os? ram?
     
  13. mini/mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    I had the 1.25 ghz 17" model. I think it had 512 ram and it was running the latest version of tiger. 10.4.11? It was really laggy, but if I had more ram, I think it would've run better.
     
  14. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #14
    Yeah, my 1.33GHz iBook G4 was slow as well. Only had 256MB RAM. I added a cheap 1GB stick and it's been running smoothly. Glad it's not used more than a laptop for occasional web surfing. Too bad it's gathering some dust. Might give it to my parents so my dad can check his stocks and email, and my mom to check her email and calendar.
     

Share This Page