Got into Grad School for IT, will my MBP manage?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ohla313, May 14, 2011.

1. ohla313 macrumors 6502a

ohla313

I just got accepted into grad school for the MSIST program and am wondering what I need my MBP to have or do to manage the work. I studied psychology as an undergrad so I am new to the coursework I'd expect from IT classes.

I currently have a 2010 13" MBP with a 2.66 GHz C2D with 4GB of RAM and 160GB. I am not running out of space but am looking at an SSD later. Is my laptop capable of the work I will be doing in my classes? I plan to purchase an external monitor as I would like the extra screen real estate. ACDs aren't cheap..

Thanks!

2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

Tomorrow

Congrats on getting accepted to grad school!

Same advice as for undergrads - contact your academic department and see what they recommend. Some schools have specific requirements, others don't really care. It's always a good idea to check first.

3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

I would think it would be fine

I am managing more than well enough in grad school with a 2009 white mb

4. palpatine macrumors 68040

Congratulations on getting into graduate school!

This is great advice.

I cannot stress how important it is to also contact graduate students in the department and ask them what they are using before you go there in the fall. This will give you an opportunity to prepare yourself over the summer by making sure you have the appropriate hardware, software, and familiarity with it. Not only do departments sometimes have specific requirements, but your seniors will have invaluable advice for succeeding (I am a PhD candidate, and I have benefitted greatly from the expert advice of fellow graduate students).

Get in touch with the department secretary, your advisor, or the director of graduate studies for names of people to contact if they are not listed on the department website.

5. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a