Got Laid Off... now what?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by ktbubster, Apr 2, 2009.

1. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

ktbubster

I was laid off from my job yesterday. This is the first time i've ever been fired from anything... and it was my first full time job out of college. I graduated with an industrial design degree and it took me 5+ months to find that job (wonderful market)

In the state of indiana, an employer is not required to give cause or notice. Which is ridiculous. I went in for my 90 day review (30 days late mind you since my boss is slow on scheduling) and was just told they had to let me go because i was not a good fit. They would not tell me ANY reasons why, but HR apparently was told that they had given me comments/critisms throughout the last few months... and i said they hadn't and HR said "oh well, won't change the outcome". It was quite possibly the most frustrating thing ever since they couldn't give me any reasons... and wouldn't... which i found fishy.

I believe they are just trying to get someone else (5-10 year graphic designer) to fill my position and another at the same time... (more for less so to speak) since they know they have their pick now.

Anyway... there is nothing I can do... i have a friend or two there that I will put as my reference to comment on my personality and such since my manager is useless and the company as a whole fired me.

SO anyway... now what?

I spent all afternoon yesterday and today updating my resume and applying for whatever jobs I could in the area, but I'm very worried.

My Dad retired back in june and has been looking for another job for the last 8 months (over qualified it seems.. no one will hire someone who will just leaevin a few months when teh econ turns back around) so my parents can't help out really either right now.

I'm really quite worried because I have tons of student loans that I have to pay back and had already had to defer a while when i got settled here...