Got Malware with that?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by xlii, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #1
  2. Tailpike1153 macrumors 6502a

    Tailpike1153

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #2
    Nope. Too chicken to jailbreak even though I've taken of the front glass on the iPhone 3G.
     
  3. mlts22 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    All the more reason to avoid installing cracked apps.
     
  4. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #4
    I think that's the big point to take out of this article. This generally isn't a problem with Cydia apps from reputable sources.
     
  5. james92se macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Are there any sort of anti-malware apps for the iPhone?
     
  6. coasterswim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #6
    Yes. "Stock firmware."
     
  7. mlts22 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #7
    iOS 4.3 when it gets released, installing it via DFU mode?

    Other than that, none. We really don't want to see antivirus software on our iPhones. It may be something for a legal checkbox, but all it does is not catch 0-days, but just slurp up CPU cycles.
     
  8. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #8
    +1
     
  9. Benji222 macrumors 65816

    Benji222

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal
    #9
    You guys are ignorant if you think malware cant find its way onto a stock phone. Why do you think the pdf exploit were patched and every other jb hole ever made. malicious software prevention.
     
  10. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #10
    Exactly. Also, the jailbroken phones were able to be patched before stock iPhones thanks to Saurik.
     
  11. mlts22 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #11
    Even worse is that with stock firmware, there is no way to go about removing the nasties other than a DFU restore. At least with a JB-ed device, you can go in and manually do some de-lousing if it comes to that.
     

Share This Page