Got my BlackBook! What's next?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by rjcalifornia, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. rjcalifornia macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #1
    So I bought a BlackBook, it is a totally awesome upgrade :) Yeah I know 2006, but it runs good.

    So what's next? I only have Leopard, so should upgrade to Mountain Lion or Get Snow Leopard?
     
  2. madmacfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #2
    That Macbook won't run Mountain lion, but will run pretty well on Snow Leopard, so my advice would be to upgrade to Snow leopard. Check the ram and upgrade it to 2gb 2x 1gb sticks, and if you can afford one, think about swapping the hard drive out for an SSD.
     
  3. rjcalifornia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #3
    Thanks! Well, I'll try to get Snow Leopard. RAM is maxed out (2 GB) and hard drive is SSD :D
     
  4. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    Is it not a 2008 black macbook? I was on the assumption that what you got was an early 2008 with GMA X3100. If its a 2006 MB then snow leopard is the way to go.
     
  5. rjcalifornia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #5
    Nope, sorry about the confusion

    Thanks Nameci! Time to buy Snow Leopard :)
     
  6. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. Tarrou8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
  8. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #8
    Congrats on your BlackBook.

    You (probably) know I am a Snow Leopard advocate, so do not be surprised I'd recommend 10.6.
    That said, let me still state something (as of yet unstated):
    If that BlackBook is a Core2Duo model (not CoreDuo), you can go as far as Lion if you feel inclined to test what the Cloud's like.

    RGDS,
     
  9. rjcalifornia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #9
    Thanks!

    It still has Leopard because I'm unable to find someone who sells a SL. It runs like a beast, like it feels so natural, even when it has some scratches ;)

    This is the one:

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-core-2-duo-2.16-black-13-mid-2007-specs.html

    ----------

    Thanks for bringing this up.

    This is a late (mid?) 2007, so is it possible to upgrade to 3GB of RAM?
     
  10. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #10
    Easiest way:
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC573/mac-os-x-106-snow-leopard

    Also, as SL is crucial in the upgrade path to Lion and ML, most apple retailers have copies of SL lying on their shelves...

    EDIT: But honestly, Leopard's not bad either. If it works, don't fix it :)

    RGDS,
     
  11. rjcalifornia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #11
    I know, Leopard is not that bad, but I heard SL runs faster because it has the ppc code removed.

    Apple doesn't ship to El Salvador :'(
     
  12. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    You can upgrade to 6GB with one 4GB stick and one 2GB stick. A late 2007 can have mountain lion with MLPF.
     
  13. Buddygor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    Northfield, Vt 05663
    #13
    It that's the one, then it can run Lion. I have a white Late '06 MB, and it runs Lion great. I know people advocate SL, but Lion still has current security updates, not to mention still having a modern Safari that's also updated currently.

    Mine has 2 2GB sticks, but it only 3GB is usable; it's better to get two 2GB ones, so that they run in dual-channel. 2GB + 1GB isn't going to be as efficient.
     

Share This Page