Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

i-sidd

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 27, 2006
Hi guys,

I got my first dslr yesterday and I am super excited. I am new to this and have a huge learning curve, I got the canon xsi with the kit lens. I don't want to shoot in auto, so I started shooting in Av mode, but I want the pics to be sharp, what settings do I need to change what auto foucus, singleshot, AI or AI servo, Multipoint or single autofocus?

What is the sweet spot for this lens? Any other suggestions to get me started...

luminosity

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2006
Arizona
I really need to make a cut and paste post ready for quick use.

Get yourself Understanding Exposure, by Bryan Peterson (and read it, of course). That will help you a lot.

HBOC

macrumors 68020
Oct 14, 2008
SLC
you got yourself a great, capable camera. I just bought an XSi kit with a few lenses 2 weeks ago.

Most lenses will be sharper the more they are stopped down; the higher the f stop, the sharper it will get (to a point). That is ofcourse you have amazing glass, then it really wont matter:)

I bought the book "Photography" by John Freeman. I love that book..

Chasb

macrumors newbie
Jan 28, 2007
I got mine through Amazon a couple of weeks ago and I'm loving it!

I'm a big fan of the 55-250mmIS lens also. Maybe this will help...I purchased the book/ 2 DVD set, Magic Lantern Guides - Canon Multimedia Workshop for the XSi and XS. One DVD covers the menu etc of the XSi and the other covers DSLR basics (aperture/white balance and so on) doesn't go too deep, but it's good start. You can get it used on Amazon for $14 or the "Dummies Guide" for XSi/450D is excellent and that's around $18 used.

Here's my Flickr site that I started after getting the camera:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/14766332@N06/