Got my new 27" i7 3.4 iMac...AWESOME! Question on internal HD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 50548, May 22, 2011.

  1. 50548 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #1
    I am absolutely happy with my new iMac i7 3.4, 8GB RAM, 1Tb HD, 2GB of VRAM, Magic Trackpad and Magic Mouse. Every game I throw at it can be played full-screen with all settings maxed out (actually I use 1920x1080 for games, but 2560 works as well).

    Things seem to load and run much, much faster than my previously wonderful C2D 24" iMac...migration went without any hiccups (apart from minor permissions issues arising from some additional manual copying of apps).

    All in all, a gorgeous machine, with incredible screen, no dead pixels and awesome color consistency. I am, as expected, a happy Apple fanboy using the world's best desktop ever.

    However, I discovered one interesting thing when checking Apple System Profiler - check this out:

    Volumes:
    Capacity: 209,7 MB (209.715.200 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    BSD Name: disk0s1
    Macintosh HD:
    Capacity: 999,86 GB (999.860.912.128 bytes)
    Available: 616,1 GB (616.100.855.808 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Mount Point: /

    Disk0s2 refers to my 1TB HD (I've got no SSD). But what about disk0s1, which seemingly has 200MB out of lalaland? Would this constitute evidence of the fabled built-in Intel fast caching feature from its Z68 motherboard?

    Once more: Disk Utility does NOT show anything as an extra disk or partition; the 200MB seem to come directly from the MOBO...or am I just too tired? I haven't yet read any other report about this...am I the first to find this out? :rolleyes:
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    That is for some sort of system use, it's just a separate, small partition on the HD. Mine has the same thing.
     
  3. 50548 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #3
    Never seen this before and it didn't exist on my previous iMac...this probably hsa to do with Intel's new MOBO...or not?
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Not so much. I should clarify, I have an aluminum MacBook from 08. I included a screenshot of the exact same partition on my computer.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Not to burst your OMG ITS THE NEW INTEL MOBO FAST CACHING SYSTEM! but....

    From a 2008 Penryn MacBook Pro.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page